What TV to buy after VR failure due to motion sickness

Hi... Thanks for the help. I am still new to sim racing, because I never got into my VR setup. It would just make me sick Everytime I tried. So I bought a nice computer with rtx 2080 8gb, I have a nice thrustmaster wheel and pedal. Will repurpose my rift s elsewhere.

I hooked up some old Samsung 32" huge bezel on it, it's funny. So much better. Getting 200 fps on it. When I tried my kids laptop to the same tv, was like 30 fps,nits a cheap $300 laptop.

So my question is what resolution tv should I buy? 4k, 1080? I am set on a single screen and 40 or 43". It will be wall mounted in front of my playseat. Actually have two chairs, the playseat f1 and the playseat evolution red bull. So I will have two tvs side by side. My son is 7 and the red bull seat is his.

Thank you...

That spec should run 4k quite comfortably. I would recommend reviewing the specs for the input lag when comparing choices though. Also the FOV might be a little narrow if you mount a 43" at the end of the rig. No option to move it closer?

Upvote 0
I would get a 49" Ultrawide monitor , i have one and actually prefer it to VR (HP Reverb).

I sold the VR headset as i wasn't a fan of it on my face , horrible to use when it's hot and the graphics are still pretty average , small sweet spot.

I love the 49" and think it's also better than 3 x 27" screens.

I only play driving sims and some don't support VR anyway (WRC 8 , awesome game) so you won't be limited by that.

49" monitor was the best thing i purchased for sim racing.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Just a question, how long have you tried getting into VR?
I got really motion sick when I first got into VR, but returned every day, and was able to do a bit longer every day. After 1 or 2 weeks I no longer had any issues with VR.

Upvote 0
49" monitor was the best thing i purchased for sim racing.