• Welcome to the largest (sim) racing website in the world!
    Blurring the line between real and virtual motorsports.

Searching...searching

Discussion in 'rFactor 2' started by Terry Rock, Oct 9, 2019.

  1. Terry Rock

    Terry Rock

    Messages:
    2,018
    Ratings:
    +770
    There has got to be a better way to select cars in this sim.
    I just purchased the URD Detroit 2018.
    The extracted rfcmp file is in the rfactor2\bin32\Packades folder and yet I cannot find the car.
     
  2. Ace King

    Ace King

    Messages:
    823
    Ratings:
    +327
    Your Packages folder location should be- rFactor2\Packages and not a sub-directory of your bin32. :thumbsup:
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. MarcG

    MarcG
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,348
    Ratings:
    +788
    You also need to Install it through the launcher, as per the COTA thread just placing it in the (correct) Packages folder won't complete the process.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. Terry Rock

    Terry Rock

    Messages:
    2,018
    Ratings:
    +770
    Thanks guys.
    I'm at a loss to explain why that bin32 directory had a packages folder...I never created one.
    Is the Mod manager used by the software?
    It points to the bin32\packages folder as the default.
    The working folder also pointed to the bin32 directory.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  5. Ace King

    Ace King

    Messages:
    823
    Ratings:
    +327
    In the launcher click on the "Package" icon then at the bottom of your screen you will see a address bar where you will be able to properly setup your Packages location which is very important.
    Note: mine is set to default C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\rFactor 2\Packages

    Setting the Packages location will allow you to see your car and track files to install from the Launcher.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  6. Martin Fiala

    Martin Fiala
    Premium

    Messages:
    5,545
    Ratings:
    +4,604
    The "bin32" part suggests it has something to do with the 32 bit version of the game, which you are likely not running anyway.
     
  7. Durge Driven

    Durge Driven

    Messages:
    1,397
    Ratings:
    +490
    Only a few mods are still using "Pkg File" method, it's messy and they force you to place content in the default Package folder

    You can run as many package folders as you like so you can divide content by cars, tracks etc'
    You can place them all on another drive/ partition so your rF2 folder has no bloat or you don't make a mistake and delete them all, at best you would still have to move all content out of packages before you could do a fresh rF2

    Like not smart to have expensive SSD holding content when it can all be stored on your slow sata .... .assuming you are in that situation, many are

    URD and GT3 skinners should get together and package them as mods like the other 99.9% of content does
     
  8. Durge Driven

    Durge Driven

    Messages:
    1,397
    Ratings:
    +490
    You can see here only "packages" are URD skin and my room mods
    ( Room mods allow you to pick specific cars tracks and skins )

    In drop down see other packages folders I have created
    I removed GT3 skinsets as to much drama updating my room mods
    and confusing numbering
    Also any cars use package method I gave the flick
    So all content is not in rF2 folder

    [​IMG]

    So my rF2 steam folder is 69.8GB ...but this is all is in "Packages"
    I have 20+GB of mods not available in workshop so save that space putting elsewhere

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2019 at 05:15
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.