rF2 New UI Security Update

Misc rF2 New UI Security Update 8u345 Red Hat

Login or Register an account to download this content
Jach submitted a new resource:

rF2 New UI Security Update - Don't ask me why, ask S397

We all know that rF2's new UI is buggy, but how many bugs are caused by S397 themselves?
We don't know, because if you take a look at rF2 files, you will find that for the new UI of rF2, S397 are still using Java Runtime Environment ("JRE") 8 update 111, released in October 2016, and was due to expire in January 2017. According to Oracle's website, more than 1600 bugs of Java have been fixed since 8u111.
For developers who are still updating their game until recently, it is beyond my...

Read more about this resource...

Ok... wAaaaait !
I work in IT... " You did whoT ? "
You took a Java Development Kit from a Linux RPM and dropped it into a Windoz game Java RunTime Environment folder ? :confused:
You have bigger stones than I do. :notworthy:
First, even from a reputable gaming site, I would not install an unknown, modified... foreign JRE on any machine.
Here is what I did :
From the Oracle website, I downloaded and installed the latest OffLine JRE in it's default Program Files folder.
Then used a Compare tool to check the difference between rF2's original JRE folder and the new install.
Naturally, they differ quite a lot.
Did the same between your archive and the original and between your archive and the new install... hundreds of diffs everywhere... tcho that !
So I renamed the game's original JRE folder, created a new one and copied the Bin and Lib folder from the new JRE install.
Started rF2... it farted.
Comparing the old with the new, I added a few files at a time until rF2 started.
Then removed the first ones I had added until I got to the culprit : msvcr100.dll which is a Microsoft Visual C Runtime.