F1 2011 Need Help on Race Starts

F1 2011 The Game (Codemasters)
I have no idea how to get a good start. Please help, I tried keeping up to the red dots, the full bar, and even overreving, but it still doesn't start nicely, losing me places.

Me too!

What i have been doing lately is revving the engine with about half throttle till the lights go out, then accelerate till about 80km/h, then shift to 2nd and give it more throttle, if the tyres are still spinning i ease up a bit i wait till the spinning stops before shifting to 3rd.

I'm no expert at starts, in fact i get them wrong more often than not however i noticed if i had first gear "longer" (over to the right more) my starts are better....less throttle sensitivity = less wheelspin = better launch. Be warned, you still have to practise with how much revs to go with but when you get it right it's like you have launch control !

İf you want to good start.dont use kers with start.wait 1-2 second for accelarate after use kers and make good gearbox settings I usually doing first gear maximum kph seconds is little bit lower than first.third is lower than second....

I find it near impossible to get good starts if im either A> racing AI, or B> Racing people online that use traction control. If im racing other guys that dont use Traction Control online i then tend to make good starts in comparison. I almost always change to 2nd almost instantly after launching from the line and then when traction gets the better of wheelspin i then use a nice load of KERS on the approach to turn 1.

In agreement with Chris above.
I would add thet you can have quite a lot of revs before the lights go out to avoid the car bogging down.
Go to mix 3 while car moves off line.
You then need to short shift and feather throttle to manage wheel spin.
Once traction is good KERS.