GPU Requirements Triple Screen

Discussion in 'Computech' started by GEO147, Nov 13, 2018.

  1. johndough247

    johndough247
    Premium

    Messages:
    345
    Ratings:
    +208
    Apologies in advance for the slight hijack:

    What issues did you have with the RTX cards and what did you do to resolve them? Curious because I have what should be in all respects a faster PC than yours, running a triple monitor setup as well (similar resolution: 5856x1080 for bezel correction)...while it's definitely no slouch, I'm not quite getting those numbers in rF2 and I don't have everything set to full...but then again, I'm pushing it harder in terms of visible cars and total cars on track (20 visible, 40+ cars). Could you possibly take a picture of your graphics settings screen to compare?

    My Specs:
    i7 8700K (OC'd to 4.8Ghz)
    MSI RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio (which I overclocked more using Afterburner's OC Scanner)
    16GB DDR4
    Mobo: ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero Z370
    rF2 running on the boot drive which is a Samsung 970 EVO nvme m.2
    Windows 10

    I did a run just like you described yours (except my settings aren't on full, see screenshots below) and mine runs at 45 - 65 in the rain. What did you do differently for your RTX?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. johndough247

    johndough247
    Premium

    Messages:
    345
    Ratings:
    +208
    OK I found your RTX 2070 thread and that added some clarity: https://www.racedepartment.com/threads/my-new-rtx-2070.161579/

    You had me on a wild goose chase...I think you meant to say in this thread you get 99 - 149 FPS in the sun and 55 FPS in the rain. Those are similar numbers to what I get. I kept wondering how you're getting 50 FPS more than me in the rain on a slower system on ultra settings.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. M D Gourley

    M D Gourley
    Premium

    Messages:
    716
    Ratings:
    +621
    OMG...sorry you are correct as after seeing your PC specs I thought that can not be right...so I just did a re-run on Sebring, 15 cars with 'Overcast and Rain', settings on 'Full'..and I was only getting 54-90FPS....appologize for the 'wild goose chase'...old guy here, memory going...lol
    Below screen shots of my re-run...
    1 rF2 SEBRING FULL GRAPHICS settings.jpg 2 rF2 SEBRING Weather settings NEW.jpg 7 rF2 VIDEO SETTINGS.jpg 6 rF2 SEBRING on grid.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2018
  4. johndough247

    johndough247
    Premium

    Messages:
    345
    Ratings:
    +208
    heheh no problem!

    I'm still looking at your settings and think you're doing pretty good (possibly equal or better than mine somehow) given the age of your CPU and RAM speed...I'm gonna try another identical run tomorrow (now that I have your exact settings) to see how they compare...what cars are you using? I did a search for those T5 cars listed in your picture and I can't find a working download link to them...I've been using the GT3 car pack, maybe the car model makes a difference.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. John-Eric Saxén

    John-Eric Saxén

    Messages:
    1,542
    Ratings:
    +846
    Yes, FPS in rF2 varies heavily depending on the content. On GTE pack (which it seems M D Gourley was running) you can expect an average of about 15-20% higher FPS, especially on the start grid. From GT3 pack, Mercedes and Radical are particularly heavy on FPS.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  6. M D Gourley

    M D Gourley
    Premium

    Messages:
    716
    Ratings:
    +621
    Yes, as Jon-Eric Saxen mentions above there is a difference in FPS between car and track combos, would be interested in your results...if interested the mod used is 'United Racing Design - T5 2018'...it is a paid mod, link below...
    https://www.unitedracingdesign.net/product-page/rf2-t5-2018
    I will also do a re-run using your rF2 settings as above and using the GT3 pack and re-post
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
  7. johndough247

    johndough247
    Premium

    Messages:
    345
    Ratings:
    +208
    Thanks for that link, I've become very interested in endurance and touring car racing (at least, in sims)...pardon my ignorance though, but these are supposed to be 2018 DTM cars?
     
  8. M D Gourley

    M D Gourley
    Premium

    Messages:
    716
    Ratings:
    +621
    I do not think so...as the Modder Team 'United Racing Design' produced them without a license, I would assume they are just similar in shape to the real DTM cars but they released this mod in 2018...only guessing really, but they do handle really well and just as good as the rF2 GT3 cars...on my PC anyway.:)
     
  9. johndough247

    johndough247
    Premium

    Messages:
    345
    Ratings:
    +208
    Looked up the DTM 2018 cars...Audi, BMW and Mercedes...Aura Beyro and Maures? :roflmao:

    They don't have the license but as long as they don't use the company names and logos and change the design of the car slightly, they're good. I downloaded it tonight, gonna give it a go in a few mins. If anything, thanks for turning me on to some new cars!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. M D Gourley

    M D Gourley
    Premium

    Messages:
    716
    Ratings:
    +621
    I have re-run rF2 with your settings above and I get 70-98 FPS with rF2 GT3 cars on rF2 laser scanned 'Sebring 12 Hour' and 'Overcast & Storm'...screen shot settings below...
    1 rF2 SEBRING 12 Hour DISPLAY SETTINGS copy.jpg 2 rF2 SEBRING 12 Hour OVERCAST STORM copy.jpg 3 rF2 SEBRING 12 Hour VIDEO RES copy.jpg
    Sebring 12 Hour GRID rF2 SEBRING 12 Hour GRID copy2.jpg
    Sebring 12 Hour 1st Corner
    5 rF2 SEBRING 12 Hour first corner copy.jpg Sebring 12 Hour back straight
    6 rF2 SEBRING 12 Hour BACK STRAIGHT copy.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. johndough247

    johndough247
    Premium

    Messages:
    345
    Ratings:
    +208
    Ran an exact duplicate of your settings (down to the AI settings and car used): exact same FPS (50 - 90) in the rain and the SAME FPS (55 - 100) in sunny weather!...I don't understand how that's possible when everything in my system is spec'd faster than yours. :O_o:

    This needs some more investigation...What version of windows are you on? What level of post-processing are you using in rF2 graphics settings? Any tweaks you did to your machine? Nvidia inspector? I could chalk up the rain FPS as GPU bottleneck, but the sunny one doesn't add up.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. John-Eric Saxén

    John-Eric Saxén

    Messages:
    1,542
    Ratings:
    +846
    I noticed you had almost max CPU usage for one core in your previous screenshots whereas other cores were low, so it could be that CPU is somehow bottlenecking, which would then limit your dry weather FPS to same as in rain. Check that you have aggressive threading disabled from rF2 launcher video settings. I don't have any other suggestions, but you can try and post on the S397 support forum.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Emery

    Emery

    Messages:
    1,679
    Ratings:
    +548
    Have you confirmed that you're not thermal limiting? I found that was affecting my bottom fps numbers with my GTX 1080 and had to alter the fan curve to fix it. Bottom fps numbers came up 30% as a result.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. johndough247

    johndough247
    Premium

    Messages:
    345
    Ratings:
    +208
    That’s probably it. I did notice the CPU thread at 100 at times and I wasn’t exactly sure what was the cause (forgot about aggressive threading). I was so used to enabling it on my previous computer with slower threads. I’ll try that tonight.

    I had a GTX 980 ti before my RTX 2080, so I was used to editing fan curves...however the RTX runs so cool I haven’t had a need to. I’ve put it through the highest settings on rF2, ACC and pCARS 2 and it has never hit 70 C. Even under 100% load. High 60’s can’t cause thermal limiting right?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Emery

    Emery

    Messages:
    1,679
    Ratings:
    +548
    I wouldn't expect it to!

    GPU-Z has PerfCap Reason, which is useful to see if performance is being capped for any reason, thermal or voltage.
    upload_2018-12-6_10-28-31.png
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. johndough247

    johndough247
    Premium

    Messages:
    345
    Ratings:
    +208
    Thanks for this, looks really helpful:thumbsup:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. M D Gourley

    M D Gourley
    Premium

    Messages:
    716
    Ratings:
    +621
    That is strange...I am on Windows 7 Pro...16GB DDR3 at 1333...running a 2TB WD Black mechanical HD with a 240 GB Samsung SSD in ASUS's Motherboard 'SSD Caching' Function as all operating system and Sims all on one, no splitting up Sims on other drives ....no special tweaks to my PC....not using nVidia Inspector.
    I looked at a web site called 'The Bottlenecker', typed in your specs i7 8700k and 2080 and it is a match made in heaven...but it said the i7 8700ki needs 32 GB Ram to work well?...I am not a tech person, but this could also something to look at...other than that it could just be...what's called...'The Silicon Lottery'...you can have 2 exactly the same products whether CPU, GPU, but one performs better than the other for some reason.
    https://thebottlenecker.com/calculator
    I7 8700K 2080.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.