rFactor on Sale (75% off)

I have no experience of dirt racing with rFactor, so cannot say. HistorX-mod is what I enjoy most.

I used to attend old GTL club races, but haven't raced in rF HistorX club. I am definitely interested in getting onboard though, even bought 2nd hand DVD version for ~5€ or so long time ago for that but haven't been racing too much. I haven't even applied any patches yet. I just got controller profiles sorted out while ago and done some offline test drives, and downloaded HistorX mod last night.

I am just a bit puzzled with all rF versions (DVD, digital ISI, digital Trymedia, Steam) and patches, and which is compatible with some other versions or some specific mods.

I am wondering if Steam version is worth of picking up for HistorX club races? Anyone using Steam version there? Or would I be ok with just DVD version or rFactor?

I can't comment on off road racing (not really my thang), but I can vouch for HistorX being absolutely glorious. Seriously - where has this mod been all my life? :)

I have known about it by name/reputation for quite a while, but I have just now gotten around to installing & configuring it over the last week...it has truly been a "WOW!" experience. I had been logging a lot of laps in GTL and thought I finally get around to checking out HistorX while I was in a 60's/70's mood...I've been totally blown away by it.

I love pushing the old TC's/GT's around in GTL - I felt that the feeling they captured of pushing a car to the point where you are four-wheel sliding right to the edge of the curbing on track out was just second to none...until I tried HistorX. If you had asked me if an rFactor mod (which, in my experience, can be pretty hit or miss) could do it better, I would have laughed in your face. Well, I have to tell you, HistorX physics (for my tastes) > GTL.