WIP Rally MOD - Discussion

Hi guys, I'm feeling this forum a little bit to idle. LOL
Let's move it. I need a help from you. I want to restart my track projects.
These days, I was roaming around youtube and I found some interesting videos of rally.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30vI2tzPL9kI was thinking about a mix between Mount Autobahn+Factory Test Track+Mountain Pass.
I'm not very good at sketching tracks, so I wish our community could help me with this project with good ideas. ^^

I want to start with a Track and later i'll think about of the cars. But not too powerful.
It could be a Fiesta , Elise or a simple Clio?

Maybe. But from now on, Ideas. LOL

It might be worth thinking about making it a sort of rallycross track. This way you can keep it quite short but will allow you to do a better quality track in less time. Maybe it's also nice to find a real location which you can use to stage the track. This way you won't have to 'invent' turns and elevation too much so the track will make sense to some degree. When inventing stuff out of the blue, it can be a tad difficult to keep the scale in check.

Cars shouldn't be an issue, you'll need something to drive them on first anyway :p

There are several types of rally's bit henerally they are time, speed, distance (TSD) where the participant tries to follow route instuctions to get from one checkpoint to another not javing a clue as to where he/dhe will end up and maintain an average speed for the section.

Special stages are sometimes used where it's flat out flying over a set distance and generally clearly laid out.

Doing this can incoporate taking out a map and selecting the roads to be driven, including special stages.

At least that's the way I remember them when I drove/navigated a few in my misspent youth.

So the first task is to make a map of the roads.

I'd go find some videos of rallying you really like, and then try find where they are, and then get aerial imagery of those bits.