F1 2011 Race Strategy Tips

F1 2011 The Game (Codemasters)
First of all, I'm no expert and was having difficulty keeping up with the AI even in professional. Then I discovered that race strategy plays a big part of the race and now I'm consistently finishing in top 5 in Williams at Legends difficulty and winning some too thanks in large part to race strategy.

You may be able to apply some of this to shorter race but this guide is intended for 100% race with long weekend. If you're still on 50% or less professional difficulty... I encourage you to move on to 100% legends as it really isn't that much more difficult but much more engaging.

Practice.
1. If you're still learning the track, do it in proving grounds. Running a lot of laps in practice wears your engine too. Do the R&D if available of course.
2. In 100% race, fuel load plays big part so run few laps with full fuel load and prime tires to see how the car feels. I usually optimize my setup for half fuel load, fuel mix 2, and prime tires during practice.

Qualifying.
1. Keep track of the tires you're using. These tires carry on to your race.
2. By default, you will qualify with about 6 laps of fuel load. You don't need it and you shouldn't run more than 1 flying lap anyway to save tires. Dial it down to 3 laps.
3. In Q1, you should be able to get into top 18 with no problem with fuel mix 1 and prime tires. If not, increase fuel mix but save your option tires.
4. In Q2, they will fit you with options by default. Change it to brand new prime and if you're having difficulty getting into top 10, try with fuel mix 3 before resorting to options.
5. Unlike Q1 and Q2, getting as high position as possible is important in Q3. Option tires and fuel mix 3. Fuel load to 3 laps as well.
6. In tires menu, make note of how long options and prime tires last. This is important for forming race strategy and you can't check this once you move onto race.