Question regarding DFGT

Frank Brasse

Work is the curse of the drinking class
I am a total noob to simracing and I want to buy my first wheel because AC just blew me away. Even with a 360 Controller it feels so much more alive and than any other racing game I played (mostly Forza4, PS 3, GT4/GT5), so I cant wait to see how it feels with a wheel. I thought I should not go too crazy with my first wheel but should make my first experiences with something decent, but not too expensive.
The Logitech DFGT seems to be a good starting for beginners, atm it ist about 125€ on amazon. What do you think, are there better products in the range < 150€?

But I have 2 Questions regarding the Logitech DFGT, maybe someone can help with:

- I want to install the wheel on my desk, but the desk plate is about 5cm thick. Would the holding clamps of the DFGT fit, how far do the wheels clamps may be spread (excuse my bad english)?

- How disruptive/strong are the FFB Effects of the wheel - is my whole desk (which is a pretty solid old one) going to shake? Is a Wheelstand (can' afford a Racing Seat atm) recommandable anyway instead of mounting the wheel to my desk?

Help is appreciatet, thanks in advance

DFGT is a great wheel to start and even to keep forever. There are better wheels but you will get most of the experience with the DFGT. Depending if you are looking for immersion or performance. For performance DFGT is all you need.
The clamping system on the DFGT is as good as it gets, if 5 cm is a little too little you can always add a little plank to give more thickness.
The clamps are slightly less wide than the wheel body. No worries about checking your desk too much and if too extreme you can always lower the FFB, this a SIM wheel not an exerciser.

Upvote 0
Just a word of caution if I'm not too late, don't over tighten the clamps as they are plastic and will eventually snap.
I also managed to snap my T500 clamp too! Hard mounted now though, much more solid.