Question about steering wheel style/preferences...

I’m curious why people own multiple steering wheels. Is it mostly to have a more authentic experience (matching the steering wheel to the type of car you’re driving)? Do you actually feel like there’s a difference in driving technique for specific cars that requires a different steering wheel (and is actually applicable in a sim)?

I’ve been using a Sparco P310 wheel for a couple years and use it to race everything from F1 to GT cars, etc. I’ve never felt like I was missing something by not having a specific F1 wheel when racing an F1 car.

Don’t get me wrong... I’m all about having more toys! I’ve got gear acquisition syndrome like I’m sure you all do... I’m just wondering if there’s something I’m missing with not having multiple wheels.

I’m curious why people own multiple steering wheels. Is it mostly to have a more authentic experience (matching the steering wheel to the type of car you’re driving)? Do you actually feel like there’s a difference in driving technique for specific cars that requires a different steering wheel (and is actually applicable in a sim)?

I’ve been using a Sparco P310 wheel for a couple years and use it to race everything from F1 to GT cars, etc. I’ve never felt like I was missing something by not having a specific F1 wheel when racing an F1 car.

Don’t get me wrong... I’m all about having more toys! I’ve got gear acquisition syndrome like I’m sure you all do... I’m just wondering if there’s something I’m missing with not having multiple wheels.

There is a niche hobby building accurate wheels. Some people like to have the exact wheel in the car they are racing with.

However, similar to you I use a P310 for everything on the track and a large blank wheel for rally. Those two wheel have worked well for me for a few years now.

There is no right or wrong just what is fun to you.

Upvote 0