F1 2010 Preserving your tires.

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
I'm currently racing at Catalunya. I'm in my first year of seven and I'm racing for Lotus. The race is in the wet but at around lap 20-22 a dry line develops. The only way I can finish in the points (aside from decreasing the difficulty) is to one stop but I'm struggling to make my wets last until the dry line appears.

Can anyone give me some tips on maximizing the life span of the tires?

Don't brake and turn, do not slide the car on the corner out (easy on the throttle), use 2 gear not 1 as lowest gear and try to cool down your wets in the remaining water on the track, be easy on the wheel in one word you must be smooth in your driving style. Also you can gamble and pit a bit early (a lap or two) and put on primes (you can still "have the car in your hands" with smart driving - do not rely to much on the recommended strategy from the pit monitor. Also you should try to make setup that is more "tyres friendly".
And finally switch your camera to bumper for a moment so you can see the track more clearly an determine if it is dry or not.

Don't brake and turn, do not slide the car on the corner out (easy on the throttle), use 2 gear not 1 as lowest gear and try to cool down your wets in the remaining water on the track, be easy on the wheel in one word you must be smooth in your driving style. Also you can gamble and pit a bit early (a lap or two) and put on primes (you can still "have the car in your hands" with smart driving - do not rely to much on the recommended strategy from the pit monitor. Also you should try to make setup that is more "tyres friendly".
And finally switch your camera to bumper for a moment so you can see the track more clearly an determine if it is dry or not.