Poäng DriveTable DIY Cockpit

Hi guys, I'm a newbie and here is my story.

IMG_6336s.jpg

So at some point I realised that "Oh, it would be great to spend some time in SimRacing".
This means I need a build a comfortable seat with a drive wheel. I was looking at Poäng chair in the guest room.
After short research I figured out that I'm not the first one who will use Ikea chair for home driving. I found some interesting solutions, but none of them matched the picture I had in my mind.
So I decided started this project, and now would like to share what I got.

Gears​

PC + TV
Fanatec Porsche 911 GT2 Wheel
Fanatec CS v1 Pedals

Fanatec set I bought used, but in almost perfect condition for €180.
Poäng chair cost me €25

First things first.
To make something we need to come up with requirements.
1. Cheap. I put myself into tight budget limits for this hobby.
2. Yet the solution should be fairly good and fulfil it's purpose.
3. Compact and revertible. (More on this later)

Iteration 1​

Goal:​

• Try to drive with what I have and find problems to solve in next iterations.
First step was to get some understanding on where the wheel base positioning. With no any previous experience this transformed into "ahh, whatever, let's just attach it to something". That was easily done with small table in front of the chair.

IMG_6448s.jpg

IMG_6452s.jpg

Findings:​

• small table won't work
  • the base should be firmly fixed for active driving
  • and preferably connected to the chair

Iteration 2 Development loop​

Strategy:​

• Using known findings come up with a new design
  • Try it
  • Iterate

Tactics:​

• Find a wheel base position so it's possible to attach it to the chair.
Having in mind an image of future solution I want in this iteration make a simple PoC to check will it work. So the idea is simple: using improvised materials what already have at home make a new small table-like construction, mount wheelbase on it, and connect with chair.