Opponents Filter in game

Discussion in 'Automobilista' started by Dethrone1427, Nov 19, 2016.

  1. Dethrone1427

    Dethrone1427

    Messages:
    427
    Ratings:
    +94
    Can anyone shed some light on how to allot opponent filters? I have tried all sorts with the VEH files.

    Nothing seems to seperate the cars in my mod into each distinct car class. Im just trying to add the final touches to a DTM mod im working on, but some reason reason unless im not naming the opponent line correctly (does it have to be identical to another line of code in the VEH file in order for it to be recognised and show up correctly in game, perhaps??). I've looked at countless other mods where there opponent filters work in game and i cant see what im doing wrong.

    Here is an example of what im using,

    Number=DTM
    Team="Schuebel"
    PitGroup="Group13"
    Driver="Michele Alboretto"
    Description="Michele Alboretto"
    Engine="Alfa Romeo Tipo"
    Manufacturer="Alfa Romeo"

    Classes="Alfa Romeo 155 V6 Ti"
    OpponentFilter="Alfa Romeo 155 V6 Ti"

    FullTeamName="Schuebel"
    TeamFounded=
    TeamHeadquarters=
    TeamStarts=
    TeamPoles=
    TeamWins=
    TeamWorldChampionships=

    Category="DTM 1995, Alfa Romeo 155 V6 Ti"

    ....and in game what im seeing.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Haha Haha x 1
  2. PieterN

    PieterN
    Premium

    Messages:
    435
    Ratings:
    +98
    Please send me a pm.
     
    • Haha Haha x 1
  3. Stan Mckeon

    Stan Mckeon

    Messages:
    5
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem yet nobody would answer my question!!
     
    • Haha Haha x 1
  4. NWRAP

    NWRAP

    Messages:
    489
    Ratings:
    +554
    I too would like to know the solution for this issue
     
    • Haha Haha x 1
  5. William Wester

    William Wester
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,259
    Ratings:
    +498
    Maybe no one knows the answer... why don't you ask on the office forums?

    http://forum.reizastudios.com/
     
    • Haha Haha x 1
  6. stanchez

    stanchez

    Messages:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would love to know an answer, unsure why nobody has raised it previously......
     
    • Haha Haha x 1
  7. PieterN

    PieterN
    Premium

    Messages:
    435
    Ratings:
    +98
    • Like Like x 1
    • Beer Beer x 1
  8. vanson77

    vanson77

    Messages:
    25
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hi! there are several entries in the .srs (series folder) and the .veh (gamedata/vehicles/...) responsible for this.

    First of all the following line in the .veh defines the tree in the which unfolds what car you select in the left hand side "VEHICLE" Column. No problem there
    Category="DTM 1995, Alfa Romeo 155 V6 Ti"


    The file you have to look at first is the .srs file. Lets take a look at the .srs from the Caterhams:
    Vehicle Filter = Cat270 Cat360R Cat620R CatAcademy CatSupersport CatSLStd CatSLSeq

    You can see that every category is one word, written together without blankspaces, so that it could be identified as one entity.

    Next look at the .veh from for example the Caterham 360R Road. Here are 2 entries relevant:
    Classes="Cat360R"
    OpponentFilter="Caterham 360R Road"


    The classes entry has to exaclty match one entry of the "Vehicle Filter" in the .srs.
    The Opponent Filter defines what is shown in the Opponents Filter ingame. You see the pattern?


    Which means you have to check your .srs and all the .veh files.

    If you want 1 opponent filter, lets say "DTM 1995" which all includes your 3 manufactures you could configure it like so:
    In your .srs file:
    Vehicle Filter = DTM1995
    In all your .veh files:
    Classes="DTM1995"
    OpponentFilter="DTM 1995"


    If you want all your 3 manufactures in your opponent filter selectable as seperate options than configure it so:
    In your .srs file:
    Vehicle Filter = DTM1995Alfa DTM1995Merc DTM1995Opel
    Your .veh files differ, depending of the manufacturer of the car. For example the entries of a Alfa:
    Classes="DTM1995Alfa"
    OpponentFilter="Alfa Romeo 155 V6 Ti"


    Hope this helps.


    edit: PieterN was faster ;)
     
    • Like Like x 5
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Dethrone1427

    Dethrone1427

    Messages:
    427
    Ratings:
    +94
    Ok thanks ever so much guys I'll give this a try when I get home
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  10. stanchez

    stanchez

    Messages:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help, got it to work!!! Will finally be able to play TCL!!!
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  11. rudolph523

    rudolph523

    Messages:
    45
    Ratings:
    +6
    i have this problem with the enduracers mod. tried what is above but didnt work, also the file structure is strange. is there a tool to edit mulitple files at once? for instance all veh files of 1 car at the same time? otherwise it would take hours and hours of work without exactly knowing if it will work.
     
  12. Gringo

    Gringo
    Premium

    Messages:
    813
    Ratings:
    +481
    https://www.powergrep.com/

    Not for the faint of heart.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. rudolph523

    rudolph523

    Messages:
    45
    Ratings:
    +6
    thanks for the link will try it, but it indeed is some heavy stuff.
     
  14. Gringo

    Gringo
    Premium

    Messages:
    813
    Ratings:
    +481
    It is a bit much and very very powerful. For a simple search and replace its not so complex. The trick is figuring out how to define the search string so you don't replace things that you didn't intend.

    Take note of the backup and undo features.

    You can setup the search to replace whole lines or "Sections". Or you can search and replace only the parts you want.

    Even if you spend a few days sorting out how the GREP program works... it will still be faster than trying to edit hundreds of cars... without making any errors.

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2018
    • Love Love x 1
  15. Pudu

    Pudu

    Messages:
    207
    Ratings:
    +82
    I use this all the time for editing tracks and cars. It seems slightly ;) less intimidating than PowerGrep.
     
    • Like Like x 2