iRacing vs. rFactor 2

Hello,

I would like to make one thing clear. Please, don't argue which one is better, because you dislike the other one and so on. I would like to get as much objective feedback as possible please.

I have been an iRacing driver for some time. I am relatively new to the world of SimRacing so I don't really know where is my place yet. I had no desire to play rFactor since I need at least some graphics immersion in the game and the original rFactor was not really "pretty". The situation changed when rFactor 2 came.

I am thinking about buying it, but since I know nothing about various simulators (I have only bought iRacing and won NetKar PRO), I would like to know what's your opinion on rFactor 2 (ideally in comparison to iRacing). rFactor 2 seems amazing at the moment (as well as Assetto Corsa and iRacing, I would say these three are the biggest opponents right now), but I have no experience with modding, league racing and so on. I am used to simply join Testing/Practice/Qualy/Race at iRacing webpage and be ready, but I quite like the idea of community developed game. I have to say I am a big fan of laser scanned tracks (which will probably be a problem in rFactor) so I don't really know what to expect.

P.S. I know that it's an everlasting issue and people discuss these games a lot, I am going through various forums an so on, but I'd like to know your personal opinion.

Thank you.

I will for sure, thank you. Even though, I would like to know what you think about it :) I don't want to compete at a very high level. I am looking for a fair competition and a place where I would be able to educate myself.

That's a problem in iRacing sometimes. I have learned A LOT there, but thecommunity is... well, not very friendly sometimes.

Are there any regular GT series for instance in rFactor? (now or in rFactor 1?)
Lets say I would like to race with friends. Do I need a server of my own or is there a way of making one just with my client?

Thank you.