How to Cook

Im going to admit I am a terrible cook, I barely ever cook and what I do cook is either simple or just plain rubbish :p So I have some culinary questions for those who do know the dark arts.

The recipe says simmer for 5-10 mins, what the hell is that? I can either make it boil or go cold, I cant seem to find an intermediate tempreture. How do I do that?!

Simmering is boiling on a temperature closer to the point of no-boiling. It is kinda hard if the recipe says that you cannot boil it. However, with something like rice, you heat the water until it boils, then put down the temperature, so it doesn't boil anymore (but stays hot).
On an oven, with, say 12 different temperatures (1-12, where 12 is the hottest). My guess will be that you will be able to simmer it on around 2-3, rice is usually made on 1-2 :)

Crikey, this was bloody hard to try to explain on english...

Simmering is boiling on a temperature closer to the point of no-boiling. It is kinda hard if the recipe says that you cannot boil it. However, with something like rice, you heat the water until it boils, then put down the temperature, so it doesn't boil anymore (but stays hot).
On an oven, with, say 12 different temperatures (1-12, where 12 is the hottest). My guess will be that you will be able to simmer it on around 2-3, rice is usually made on 1-2 :)

Crikey, this was bloody hard to try to explain on english...

Couldn't of explained it better myself:thumbsup:

Hmmm.....This could be an interesting thread, I like cooking but hate doing it just for myself....
Meanwhile, here's a tip Im always answering to friends....
"How do I know if an egg is good or bad?"
Put it in a glass of water, if it floats back up clear off the bottom it's no good.
Most times it'll just touch bottom but thats OK, there's a little gas pocket in eggs that causes this....

BLeeK's Basic Bloke Cake.
(Tea Cake)

2x cup of flour
2xEggs (add a 3rd egg if your using a large cup/schooner glass