DRIVER ARMS UPDATE Crashing mods

Discussion in 'Automobilista' started by cjhill44, Jul 1, 2017.

  1. cjhill44

    cjhill44

    Messages:
    2
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have downloaded the F1 1992 & 1994 mods ages ago and played them successfully up until the recent update to the driver arms however when I choose a track and try to load either of them, the game just crashes.

    I see others have had problems with various skins and mods and have simply added a reference to the upgrades.ini, in each .veh file, however I noticed mine already had these as this example shows below...

    HDVehicle=1994F1.hdv
    Graphics=B194_06.gen
    Spinner=B194_06_Spinner.gen
    GenString= // Used to generate GMT names in *.gen file
    Cameras=B194_cams.cam // Defaults to cams.cfg in UserData directory
    Sounds=Ford_HB.sfx
    HeadPhysics=1994headphysics.ini // Affects driver eyepoint only
    Cockpit=B194_cockpitinfo.ini
    Upgrades=B194_upgrades_06.ini
    AIUpgradeClass=


    I did however notice that the upgrades files did not have any reference to the Arms update, so I added one for each upgrades.ini file in each vehicle folder for the mod, as show below for the 1994 Bennetton...


    UpgradeType="Driver arms in cockpit"
    {

    Instance="WHEEL"
    Instance="DRIVER"

    UpgradeType="Driver arms in cockpit"
    UpgradeLevel="Arms Off"
    {
    Description=""
    GEN=<ARMSA>=B194_ARMS_OFF.gmt
    GEN=<ARMST>=B194_ARMS_ON_A.gmt
    GEN=<ARMSB>=B194_ARMS_ON_B.gmt
    GEN=<ARMSC>=B194_ARMS_ON_C.gmt
    }

    UpgradeLevel="Arms On"
    {
    Description=""
    GEN=<ARMSA>=B194_ARMS_ON_A.gmt
    GEN=<ARMST>=B194_ARMS_ON_A.gmt
    GEN=<ARMSB>=B194_ARMS_ON_B.gmt
    GEN=<ARMSC>=B194_ARMS_ON_C.gmt
    }
    }


    After doing this for ALL the updates files (swapping B194 for whatever the corresponding car)
    I fired up the mod again but still it crashed upon track load.

    Originally I was getting an error message that popped up in a dialog box that said 'UNKNOWN_TOKEN_ARMSA' but now the game just crashes to desktop.

    Has anyone else experienced a similar issue and know how to fix?
    Mod Edit: <snip> No external links here !!!!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2017
  2. Nelson Ullinskey

    Nelson Ullinskey

    Messages:
    1,372
    Ratings:
    +853
    BUMP: I am having the same issue with several mods. Is there a solution?
     
  3. Marc Collins

    Marc Collins

    Messages:
    711
    Ratings:
    +205
    In the short term, turn off arms. That solved it for me as they don't look that great in the first place. Reiza acknowledged it was just a fill-in. We'll have much better ones in their next title.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Nelson Ullinskey

    Nelson Ullinskey

    Messages:
    1,372
    Ratings:
    +853
    I don't even have an option to do anything with the arms yet it still crashes and gives the error.
     
  5. Gasper Zupan

    Gasper Zupan
    Troyan Donut Automotive Premium

    Messages:
    259
    Ratings:
    +129
    You can't choose arms on/off in showroom?
     
  6. Marc Collins

    Marc Collins

    Messages:
    711
    Ratings:
    +205
    Or use the master setting that affects all cars under Display in Options?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Nelson Ullinskey

    Nelson Ullinskey

    Messages:
    1,372
    Ratings:
    +853
    For the mods I am using they do not have the option in the showroom, and I did turn off the arms in the display options as well.
     
  8. Nelson Ullinskey

    Nelson Ullinskey

    Messages:
    1,372
    Ratings:
    +853
    Figured it out. The VEH files are missing a line which refers to the call for the upgrades. Since the mods I am using are based on models that already exist I can just copy over the line from another car that already has it.