CART 1999 AI what gives?

Is it my driving or something else?

I’ve been running the CART 1999 cars at Watkins Glen Short track (w/chicane) trying to find the limit of the car and myself before running it on tracks in less familiar with.

On completely default tunings with :
- hard tires
- abs: factory
- tt: factory
- everything else off
- manual shifting

My times: low-mid 56’s
Ai times(80+/-5): mid 53’s

Is the ai making any sort of adjustments to the setups? It says they have hard tires too but that’s all I see.

Before I get the response of slow in/fast out or proper racing line, I already understand that and am not a complete beginner.

With my current car setup, I could probably manage to find some time and get my laps down in the mid/high 55’s, but that’s going to be squeezing everything out if the car and will still not be at those 53’s.

what gives? Is it me and I’m a fool or is there something about this car’s ai or track or what?

Manual gears tested:
- t1 (2, 3) had best luck with 3
- t2 t3 t4 flat out until chicane
- t567&8 (1,2,3) had best luck with 3
- t8 sweeping right turn (3,4,5) had best luck with 3 into 4 and hitting 5 coming out of turn
-t9 (4,5) 4 seemed best
- t10 (3,4) cant decide which one i like

Maybe it’s my shifting, but I’d like to believe I’ve got a good feel for identifying untapped speed.

I've found that the faster open-wheel AIs in Assetto Corsa are kind of impossible to compete against without adding a bunch of ballast or turning down the AI to a level I feel cheap racing against. I can at least keep pace with and not completely get smoked by GT cars at the highest AI level, but when you turn on the Pedals app and follow an AI driver in an open-wheel car, you'll see they're doing gas/brake techniques that are really tough for humans to match. This isn't such an issue with stuff like the Formula Abarth, but Formula 2 and up tends to go at a pace I can't match for very long.

Though maybe I just need to Git Gud myself. :D