Bumpy oval

Hello,

I'm trying to make a simple oval for rFactor. Making the camber wasn't a problem, the track basically seems ok, but the banked corners are incredibly bumpy. It's not a tdf issue, I also tried flattening/smoothing the nodes, but still the car constantly hits the ground on the banking.

I'm not an expert in BTB, I'm sure there is a simple fix for this, didn't find anything on Google, so any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Thank you for your suggestion neteye, I tried changing the panel length but unfortunately it didn't help. The car still bounces around like mad on the banked sections (only the banked section, not the straights).
I'm testing it with the VHR 2014 Nascar mod, so it's not the cars either, they work perfectly on other ovals.
Maybe it is the tdf? The track surface looks smooth, it just isn't when you drive over it. But I tried replacing the tdf with that of a working oval and there was no change.

It's the same when I put the track into GTR2 by the way, so it's not rF-specific.

Last edited:
Hi Turean,

second Idea: too many nodes. Maybe rebuild the corners with as few nodes as possible, like this. maybe thats causing some waves in the corner that you feel, because btb cant smooth it enough.

greetings,
neteye

You're a genius, I think that's it! :thumbsup:

I thought more nodes = smoother track, but of course what you said makes sense. I deleted some and it's much better now.

But - forgive me for sounding like a complete noob - how do you make a smooth corner out of 2 nodes like in your picture?

It takes time, and many attempts ;)
that particular corner was easy because i had the grid for reference, which makes it much easier. another way is to import a circle as a background image, resize it and move it to the corner, so you can use that as reference.