Adjusting to new rim

I’ve been racing exclusively with round 300mm rims for about three years and just purchased an Ascher F28 (285mm). After about six hours of practice, I am still struggling massively. Steering feels awkward and completely disconnected from the car, and I am uncharacteristically making tons of mistakes.

Is the 15mm really that huge of a difference, or is it adjusting to a Formula style rim, or both? I didn’t make any wheel range settings changes in iracing or true drive. Thank you.

Last edited:
I don't think you will have too many problems adjusting. It's always weird going from a larger rim to a smaller one. Fanatecs formula rims are very popular and are even smaller.

I used a converted fanatec formula for a long time, then a larger momo - which of course felt huge!. Then the Ascher so I knew it would be strange again.

Now I dont think twice and it will become part of you again, you will turn it as much as you need without thinking about it. I dont know how long the transition takes but pretty soon it will fell as natural as your old wheel.

Upvote 0
Additionally to the diameter of the wheel the weight could be a factor.

My opinion is that bigger and/or heavier wheels ( at least on consumer grade belt driven wheelbases) take away some of the "detail" of the force feed back.

So it could be the more or less FFB ( depending on the power of your wheelbase) that needs some getting used to.

( And maybe its just the expectation " i spend a hella lottta cash on ( nice ) equipment, why am i not winning everything. This could definitly happen to me:rolleyes:)

So give it some time on a relaxing drive ( maybe an afternoon cruise at LA Canyons :thumbsup:)
and things will get better again.

MFG Carsten

Upvote 0
I find the diameter of the wheel makes a huge difference to how the car feels, at least that's my excuse everytime I buy/build a new one (up to 7 now... :D).