240Hz monitor worth it?

So i am planning to get a 240hz monitor, is it worth upgrading coming from 144hz?
Overwatch/CSGO professionals use the tech since 2017, every major company has a 240hz monitor on the market and the 2. generation is expected soon.
Please only comment if you have tried it ;)

• Deleted member 197115

You can probably drive CSGO at 1080p using 2080Ti to that frame rate. Sure. :)

My 1070 keeps steady 200 fps at 60% load with forced supersampling. Don't reply if you have no clue.

I have no experience with 240 hz but I'd say it's not worth it anyway. Even with 144hz almost all panels have issues with ghosting due to being too slow but overclocked.
Sure, the 240hz panels can do it but you probably will "downgrade" in every other aspect. I doubt that the slight difference you would perceive for sure would make up for it.
Letting alone the stupidly high amount of money these monitors cost!
If you aren't a 4:3 border guy I'd say an ultra wide 120+ Hz would do better, giving you more spatial awareness!
Afaik there is no 240hz ultra wide yet so I guess you don't have one either?

Hey Andrew, FWIW, there is no need to match FPS with Hz. I have been running a 144hz monitor with sims generating FPS less than third of the Hz. The higher Hz means you can run any frame rate, with vsync off and much reduced, if not eliminated, screen tearing.

I don't believe Hz will have any effect on ghosting. Get a TN LED (not VA!) if that is a primary concern.

In my experience 144hz is essential. I have not used a monitor able to operate at a higher Hz.

Last edited: