Questions on Skinning

Greetings! First off, I am completely new to skinning. Means no skins for Assetto Corsa and any other games. This is my first. I am trying to make a skin for the SF70H with Henky SA's unofficial template. I am having a problem with the sponsors as deleting the original layer still results in the silhouette still being present.
Example: Deleting the layer for the Shell logo makes the logo disappear, but leaves a white silhouette on the body of the car.
Will creating a completely new .dds file for the sponsors fix this problem? I am currently using the ones supplied by the unofficial template as they provide wireframes for easier positioning. Many thanks in advance!

Go to channels in PS and look at the alpha channel, areas painted black will show the metal detail texture. You will probably see some logo shaped white bits in the alpha channel.

So I was just going to try and explain that the alpha channel uses grey scale to turn on/off the metal detail texture which you might find included with your template or in one of the other skin folders (or if not it might be hidden but you can probably override it by dropping a different metal_detail.dds file into your skin folder.) Black shows the metal detail completely and shades of grey will show it with less opacity and white doesn't show any metal detail at all. If you paint a skin blue and then view it and it is red then you have a red metal detail and your alpha channel is painted black, paint the alpha channel white and your skin will now be blue.

You could end up with a similar problem to the one you described in your original post if the logos are painted onto your skin_map.dds file as well, that file controls reflections and stuff. You can mess around creating your own one of those but it needs to be named correctly (and it varies from car to car, it is usually the main skin file name with "_map" or "_Map" after it.)