Question about tyres and AI setups

I only started playing GTR2 earlier this week and already it's probably the most fun I've had with offline racing in any sim. However, I'm still trying to gauge my pace with the AI. The only mod I'm using is the Crew Chief plug-in, and I do have flat spotting and dirty tyres enabled. I'm driving on the Simulation setting with the AI currently at 100. I've been doing 30 minute sprint races on soft tyres. Unfortunately in two of the three races I've done so far I DNF'ed within the last 5-10 minutes, once because my VR headset disconnected when I alt-tabbed, and the other time because a certain rabbit chewed through the cable to my pedals right before the braking zone. The third race I finished, but I wouldn't consider that normal tyre wear because I spun a couple times and I think I may have destroyed them while sliding sideways.

For people who have more experience with the game, what's the normal tyre life for the three slick compounds? Is a thirty minute race on softs reasonable? I mostly felt good about my pace compared to the AI, but I'm wondering if they were on mediums and I just had way more grip. I DNF'ed at Brno with about 5 minutes left, I never really felt the grip fall off but it's also not a very demanding circuit.

In general, using default tires, on most tracks, with average race lengths (GTR2 uses 2004 FIA standard races of three hours), you can count on 2-3 pit stops per race, mainly for fuel. Unless you have selected accelerated tire wear in the menu even soft compounds should easily last for a thirty minute race.