New to AC: Performance Issues and intermittent CPU 99% Warning?

I'm pretty new to AC - less than a month. I started out on a controller and couldn't help but jump on the boxing week sale on the G29 wheel this week so was very excited to get back in. However the performance issues I am getting are REALLY getting me down on this whole thing.

I had noticed some slo-mo slowdowns while on my controller before Christmas so I don't think it's related to the new wheel - though I did find some threads that suggest ticking a "half update FFB" checkbox which I did... and it made no difference.

I have a few of the mods that everyone suggests downloaded in content manager...

It just makes no sense to me the 99% CPU warning as I have a second monitor which I can watch task manager showing around 24-50% CPU utilization and 80% GPU. There are no spikes in utilization that match up with the slow-downs in the game.

CPU Assetto.png

I've got a gaming laptop with an i7-7700 and GTX1060, 16 GB DDR4 RAM. Not the best machine by any stretch but I thought it would keep up with a 7-year old racing game.

Two quick remarks:
Firstly, the CPU utilisation alert will be for just a single thread, so it won't show up in Task Manager as a 100%-busy CPU (a single busy thread will only have your 8-thread-capable CPU at 12.5% busy).
Secondly, when I see issues like this on laptops, I always check for overheating. Simplest way is to hit the button visible at the bottom of your Task Manager pic, and bring up the Resource Monitor. In there, you can ask it to monitor the CPU frequency, and in fact it'll probably do that by default; it'll be a blue line which should sit at the top of the CPU panel when the CPU is heavily loaded. If that dips in a way that seems coincident with your performance issues, you probably have dust clogging your cooling system. (Blow it out, hoover it out, or dismantle the machine...)

I don't think it's related to the new wheel
You are correct, it is not.