Modding help

So i have an idea for a mod but not sure how i'd go about it. Basically I want to make a volvo 850 championship, so basically 8 teams each with 2 drivers all using the same volvo 850 car. Is it Just a case of making a new TEAMS folder and then copying the volvo into different folders for each team or is it a bit more involved than that? Also I'd like to add some of my own drivers and not sure how to go about it. I'm a bit of a noob with this stuff

It is usually a good idea to copy as few files as possible.

You can just add a new team folder in ...race 07\Gamedata\Teams\Volvo_Heritage\Volvo_850\ and copy a .car file from an existing car and paste it there.
Here's an example how you can do it:

Include=..\Volvo_850.inccar //this will include all the physics, so leave it as it is

GenString=3 // a number to send into the graphics file to select parts, but not used in this car as far as I can see

Number=00001 //an unique number for this car/driver, also used for unique skins/textures. Change to something else with 5 digits
Team="TWR Racing" // change to a new team name if you want
PitGroup="PITGROUP_UPDATE_ME" // Cars with the same name here will usually be placed near each others and use the same pitstop location if the track supports it.
Driver1="Rickard Rydell" // Give your driver a name. The game will look for a talent file containing the same name. If there is none, standard talent values will be used, and a "world" flag icon will be displayed next to the driver in the menu.

FactoryWeight=0.1 // I think this one is about how important the driver is for the team, but not sure. How likely he is to be chosen to drive if the number of cars on track is less than available cars in the class. Or possibly a menu sorting order thing. I usually not use it.

To make a new class for your car(s) you should also add:

classes="FULL,850_Racing" // First should be "FULL", second should be an unique class name