Exiting the pit lane

Discussion in 'Assetto Corsa' started by Keith Gregg, Apr 25, 2017.

  1. Keith Gregg

    Keith Gregg
    CAUTION - SLOW VEHICLE Premium

    Messages:
    271
    Ratings:
    +101
    I think I know there is a penalty for crossing the white line onto the racing line when exiting the pit lane but is there a penalty for crossing the white line when racing onto the pit exit lane?
    Sorry for the dopey question guys.
    Thanks
     
  2. Ross Garland

    Ross Garland
    R3E & AMS Club Manager Staff Premium

    Messages:
    7,482
    Ratings:
    +3,256
    Is the penalty for crossing the white line when exiting the pits simulated in AC? I don't remember. In any case, driving onto the pit lane exit area while racing is not a penalty. Indeed, sometimes the pit lane exit is right on the racing line.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Keith Gregg

    Keith Gregg
    CAUTION - SLOW VEHICLE Premium

    Messages:
    271
    Ratings:
    +101
    Thats exactly why In was asking Ross lol...the racing line being in the pit exit lane I mean....I seem to remember that the penalty was simulated in AC...unless it was another sim that I learnt that rule.
    Many thanks for the answer anyways.
    Cheers bud
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. RasmusP

    RasmusP
    AC Stuff and G27 help Staff

    Messages:
    3,395
    Ratings:
    +1,224
    You are right. When on the track you can cross this line. When you are exiting pits, you shall not! That's because if you are on the track you will see if someone is coming out of the pitlane and you are much faster. But if you are exiting pits you shall not get in front of the fast cars!
    I remember a few incidents in F1 where this was a big discussion.
    Here is one I remember between Ralf and Michael Schumacher. Ralf got a 10s pit lane penalty.

    VIDEOlink , scene at 03:10 min
     
  5. Brandon Wright

    Brandon Wright
    I may not be fast, but I'm wide! Premium

    Messages:
    4,192
    Ratings:
    +1,716
    Then there was this incident from Bahrain a couple weeks ago. Sainz didn't cross the pit exit line but he clearly left his brain in the pits. :roflmao: