Buying & cutting Aluminum Profile for self builds - What tools for the Job?

Hi peeps I'm hopefully going to get a DIY workshop built in the back garden for hobby stuff etc.

I have an Aluminum Profile rig the GT1 EVO Sim Racing Cockpit from sim-lab.eu but I've liked working/adjusting the profile so much that I'm thinking of building some adjustable workbenches and storage etc from it.

BUT i'm really a total noob when it comes to DIY self builds and I'm wondering about where to get Aluminum Profile and what tools like a table saw etc would be needed to work with it.

If anyone has exspeance working with Aluminum Profile it would be great to get some advice, even if it's "don't do it" lol

If anyone has experience working with Aluminum Profile it would be great to get some advice, even if it's "don't do it" lol.

I can be talked into just using wood, but it's gone up in price quite a bit and you can't just recustomise it by moving things in the slots.

I should add that I live in Northern Ireland, so companies based in the UK or Ireland would be great :)

Cheers
Lloyd.

Last edited:
Biggest difficulty for DIY aluminum profile is making square cuts, so whatever cutting tool you choose, it needs to not let cuts wander. I would choose a sliding compound miter saw over a table saw for this kind of work. Obviously a metal-cutting blade is used.

Drill press and center punch if you're making your own fixtures, like flat plates, etc.

Last edited:
I have an old Mikita 10-inch compound miter saw which can cut through approx. 6-in material. If I were to buy a new miter saw for this purpose as well as light carpentry, I would opt for a sliding miter saw of with least 10-in blade diameter, preferably 12-in. for wide materials like shelve boards.

I purchased the following non-ferrous blade from Amazon in 2018 and have made lots of cuts: