Buttkicker worth it?

Just wondering if anyone has one and does it actually add to the immersion much? I know quite a lot about them but what to know the opinion of someone that owns a buttkicker

I have no experience with buttkickers, but with bass shakers and their own amp, plugged into my motherboard's sound output. I have four of them (two on the lower back of my racing seat and two on the sides. I must say that my seat is made of fiber (a Sparco replica), so the shakers are screwed directly to it, which is the best setup to feel the vibrations. Also, I purchased the Simvibe software, which reads the info from the games and translate it to the shakers. You can even customize every element in every way, for instance, engine vibration, collisions, road surfaces, gear change, etc. You can also make this work without this software, just passing the bass sound to the shakers, but it's much much worse (I have not tried it). As regard immersion, I find the shaking now absolutelly essential (consider for instance that I have uninstalled rfactor 2 simply because it doesn't work with my Simvibe for some unknown reason). It just make your feel much more connected to the car and to the road. Maybe if you have a motion system, you don't need shaking, although I've heard both systems working together make an extraordinary experience. However, if you consider the relatively low cost of the whole set (shakers, amp and Simvibe), and how easy everything is to install, I think that nobody who is into sim racing should ignore the benefits of this invention.

mdfcockpit09.jpg

Upvote 0
Put it this way; get in a real car and observe feeling of the road texture and engine vibrations coming through your feet and seat while travelling. This is what a buttkicker feels like, it's very convincing. Once you've used one and turn it off it feels like something is missing.