F1 2013 25% races = no grip after 3 laps

F1 2013 The Game (Codemasters)

Chris Jenkins

Driving til the wheels fall off
Hey all, on career mode I can't seem to keep the car on track after 3 or 4 laps of a 25% race.

The tyres seem to just disappear and I spin out on almost every corner.

Anyone else experience this?

It's annoying the hell out of me, as I physically can't complete a race!

I don't race 25% so i have no direct experience with the tyre wear at that distance. The tyre wear is supposed to be scaled down so if the options are only lasting 3-4 laps in a 25% race that's 12-16 laps in a 100% race. that's reasonable for some circuits. When are the AI stopping?

Another thing to consider is how worn your tyres are at the start of the race. If you qualify in the top ten you have to start on the tyres you qualified with....so they will already have some wear on them.

Last edited:
tire scaling.the tires will last 25% of what they would or should last in a 100% race. thats why your tires are going off so "early". 3 laps X 4 (quarter) = 12 laps in 100% race. 4 laps X 4 = 16 laps in 100% race. its because codemasters wanted the shorter races to have some sort of strategy to be required to win. not just 100% races like they did in 2012

All these points are valid, but there seems to be no middle ground.

Lap 1-3, I can drive flat out, lap 3/4, I can't put any power down out of a corner without spinning out.

Surely this should happen a bit more progressively?

Lap 1-3, I can drive flat out, lap 3/4, I can't put any power down out of a corner without spinning out.

if youre constantly pushing then your tires will not last very long. and dont say "these points are invaild" when you asked for an answer...dont ask a question if you know the "answer" :)

That's how tyre scaling works. At 25%, It makes tyre wear 4 times quicker than 100% races. It also makes wear progression 4 times quicker.