1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. #GiveAwayFriday. Win a copy of F1 2017 - The Game. Click here to join.

Tyre texture changing in pits

Discussion in 'rFactor' started by Kyle Puttifer, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. Kyle Puttifer

    Kyle Puttifer
    Banned

    Messages:
    1,487
    Ratings:
    +93
    In F1WCP 2009/2010 you can change your tyres in the pits (as in all mods) but it also changes the texture of the tyre according to the compound. For example, option tyres have the well-known green stripe, and this is changed in a pitstop if you were on hard tyres.

    Is it possible to replicate this in RFT 2010? I prefer the RFT 2010 mod to WCP 2010, so this would be a cool feature to have.
     
  2. Wayne Reed

    Wayne Reed

    Messages:
    2,136
    Ratings:
    +28
    Yes it can be done. But you will to make tyre texture for it if they don't have one
     
  3. Kyle Puttifer

    Kyle Puttifer
    Banned

    Messages:
    1,487
    Ratings:
    +93
    I have tyre textures as they are inside the TIRES.mas file along with the gmts, what I need is HOW to do it.
     
  4. Wayne Reed

    Wayne Reed

    Messages:
    2,136
    Ratings:
    +28
    Look at the wcp files and copy the layout so it is the same. it might take time and a little playing about to get it right but you will get there. And remember to make a backup before you change any files also remember that you will get online mismatch so keep the old files so if you go online it will work fine.
     
  5. Kyle Puttifer

    Kyle Puttifer
    Banned

    Messages:
    1,487
    Ratings:
    +93
    Which files do I look at? I've looked at the HDV which contains pitstop info and I can't find anything.
     
  6. Wayne Reed

    Wayne Reed

    Messages:
    2,136
    Ratings:
    +28
    There might be something in the .Gen files have a look about in them see if you can find any thing
     
  7. Kyle Puttifer

    Kyle Puttifer
    Banned

    Messages:
    1,487
    Ratings:
    +93
    There's nothing out of the ordinary in the .gen files.
     
  8. Kevo

    Kevo

    Messages:
    32
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didnt think this was possible in rFactor, but doesnt mean it isnt. Ive seen Race 07's cars do this but that may be something Simbin added.
    Sounds very interesting though, I'll see if I can get it to work in V8Factor.
     
  9. Kyle Puttifer

    Kyle Puttifer
    Banned

    Messages:
    1,487
    Ratings:
    +93
    That's two people who want it in other mods. :)
     
  10. Wayne Reed

    Wayne Reed

    Messages:
    2,136
    Ratings:
    +28
    I got the wcp 2010 mod last night I will have a look at the files over the next days and see how they set it up to do and i will let you know what needs to be done to use it on your other mods
     
  11. Kyle Puttifer

    Kyle Puttifer
    Banned

    Messages:
    1,487
    Ratings:
    +93
    Thanks.
     
  12. James Scanlan

    James Scanlan

    Messages:
    168
    Ratings:
    +13
    any news on this yet ?
     
  13. Wayne Reed

    Wayne Reed

    Messages:
    2,136
    Ratings:
    +28
    I will post up in the week what I find as I have my dad staying here for a Easter so I will get onto it after that
     
  14. Kevo

    Kevo

    Messages:
    32
    Ratings:
    +0
    I emailed the Team manager asking about how its done, but they replied saying they dont want to share how they did it.

    Upon having a look at the textures and materials in 3dsimed, it looks like they have use the "tread" material name, and used 05BRDG(00-05).bmp's as a texture animation. I suspect BRDG is short for Bridgestone, so no special names for the textures there. I havent got it to work in V8Factor yet, but I'll keep trying.
     
  15. Doug62

    Doug62

    Messages:
    590
    Ratings:
    +201
    How disappointing is this! This is just like ISI developing something and refuses to use it because they don't want to share it. We're all busy waiting for rFactor 2 to come out but in reality it's already "here" The thing is we all have been apart of the development and testing team over the past 5 years that you haven't noticed it. There has been vast improvement in all aspects of rF1 over the past 5 years. Some we know and others we don't see. Better and more powerful home PC's have given the mod teams a more open and less restrictive field to build their mods and tracks. Physics development has gone from the basics of the original ISI format to now were people have gone outside the box to improve aero, Suspension, Tyres behaviour and many other things.

    In many of these things if we all could pool together all this experience and knowledge into one mod and track we could just about make rF2 obsolete before it even gets released. So when we see a team develop something that would go that one step forward for all mod teams refuse to share their development work with other mod teams when asked is disappointing to say the least. After all it's all done for the community as a hole, Isn't it? That's the hole point in doing all that hard work, Hours of testing, Hours studying file structures and trying to see that one thing that "If I do this can I get this to work?" The biggest question every mod team asks itself every time they go to their PC to work on their mods.
     
  16. Greg Wyatt

    Greg Wyatt

    Messages:
    81
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same Kevo, I looked at their files and even followed the same format but to no avail, I even cut the middle section of the tyre adding the additional name in the GMT as they did and the Event numbers they did, still no different.. I can't see anything anywhere else that would suggest a different compound (in this case DDS).

    Radar.
     
  17. Kyle Puttifer

    Kyle Puttifer
    Banned

    Messages:
    1,487
    Ratings:
    +93
    This is really disappointing. I was going to use this in A1GP 2010 before I release it, but WCP will not help the community. Surely all F1 mods will be better with this script (2007 onwards) as you can see what tyres you are on, rather than working it out from how they perform.
     
  18. FlashQld

    FlashQld

    Messages:
    140
    Ratings:
    +30
    I have spoken with Kyle about this and will share with everyone later this weekend. I have it working in the the FVR V8SC2011 and will pop our patch out this weekend which will include this option. I can't believe we were so close to it a few months back but just missed it by millimetres. Anyway I have a wedding to watch and some football.
     
  19. Greg Wyatt

    Greg Wyatt

    Messages:
    81
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad to hear Flash, good work.

    Radar.
     
  20. Kyle Puttifer

    Kyle Puttifer
    Banned

    Messages:
    1,487
    Ratings:
    +93
    One question: Is it complicated?
    Will this be released in a patch for RFT 2010 as well? I can then adapt the files for A1GP 2010 before I release it.