1080 or 1440 Displays

I am planning to purchase 3 new 32" displays.

This is my system: Photo Editing / Sim Workstation
  • i7-8700K
  • RTX2070
  • 32GB Ram
I would greatly appreciate help / advice on the following questions:
  • If I buy 1440 native displays and run at 1080, is the image quality significantly different than running 1080 on native 1080 displays?
  • Would my computer run smoothly with 3 displays at 1440? (iRacing, ACC, all the usual sims)
  • What displays would you recommend? (I am interested in flat screens) - Seems many are out of stock currently.
Thank you.

- Bill

PS. I am a motorsport photographer. This is my portfolio if you would like to view it. Photo Portfolio

I just ordered 3 x LG GL850 27" 1440p 144hz after a shitton ( like really alot ! ) of research.

27 seems sweet spot, 32 would be nice but no decent monitors available YET.

For me personal I decided that I want best bang for buck high quality 1440p flat monitors. Might have to tone down the settings in ACC ( iracing less demanding ) for now but come new GPU's more fps will be achieved. Currently running X34P and the LG is on par as for quallity. No 32' IPS panels out there that give what I want as I use the monitors ( or a single one ) for other games 2.

As for the downscaling, no experience with it but most people complain that it looks like crap, with a 1080ti or the 2070 don't think it will be needed and 1440p will run synced over 60fps which will do for now :)

Upvote 0
  • i7-8700K
  • RTX2070
  • 32GB Ram

Your needs, as a photographer, are at least 1440p and probably 4k. Your GPU, however, is only suitable for triple 1080p when it comes to simracing, particularly if you play ACC. If photography is paying the bills, then get triple 1440p and suffer the scaling. If you can upgrade the GPU to a RTX 2080ti, then triple 1440p monitors are a suitable simracing choice.