My NEW Sim Rig Speakers - Edifier R1280T

M D Gourley

Premium
Disclaimer:
The information I have given here is only my personal observation and I have no HiFi knowledge whatsoever :)...please see below RasmusP post for more professional editorial.

After using various Headphones for over 10 years listening to the Audio in Sims, I recently thought about having my first set of external Speakers because my living circumstances have changed so I can make some noise without annoying anyone else:D.
I did not want to spend to much money as I was more than happy with the functionality and sound my current Astro Headphones + Mix Amp Pro produce.

I wanted to find something that I could continue to utilise my Astro Mix Amp Pro by just plugging the speakers into the 3.5mm jack as the Mix Amp had the Volume Control at my finger tips. I did not want the typical cheap PC speakers which I have on the Office PC which sound ok, but still sound a bit tinny and have no real bass.
I tried out the Office PC Speakers first to test the connection to the Astro Mix Amp to see if it was possible and whether it would work. I also did not want to clutter up my Sim Rig with lots of extra gear, so 2 speakers placed in the position shown in the photo was the plan.

Came across the Edifier R1280T from my local Computer Store...'How much you say', that's well within the budget!. What I liked is that I could still use the Astro Mix Amp Volume control and plug them in as mentioned above....I'll take 'em...and if they do not sound that good they can be an upgrade for the Office PC.

Un-Boxed them and was immediately impressed with the quality and finish of the Edifier R1280T, very solid when giving them the knock test and have a reasonable weight to them and just on the first impressions I thought they looked great.