Car models for Assetto Corsa

Hi Aristolesis
I’m keen to teach myself how to build cars for sims. If I was to attempt to jump straight in at the deep end and aim for AC, can you give any initial pointers to go on at the minute? I’m assuming that the best program to work with would be 3DS Max? Can you give an idea of poly counts for each main part of one of your typical cars? How many for the body, how many for the interior, how many for wheels, etc.
Yes, I am an absolute bone-stock beginner, but I have ambition :-D
Many thanks,
Graham

Also I may add that not all Forza models are actually that accurate, the Autovista ones may be but some of the ingame ones are not, I've had many discussions with other modelers where they say some Forza models don't look well proportioned, namely the early Forza 2 models, so I'd advise to not use someone else's model as a definitive reference because it may have errors, as a "general" reference it may be ok, as in, to see those little details that you just can't find from photos, like, underbody or little dashboard buttoms. Using them as a general reference for things you don't know about the car may be ok, however, getting an already made 3D model and simply retopo it would be the same as tracing someone else's artwork, and this is widely known as wrong. :)
Though one would argue that mods are free so "anything goes", this is something that I'm not sure how to feel about, for example, I don't make conversions from other games, but I'll be honest, I'll play with converted cars if they are available for the game I'm playing. As usual with anything, things get grayish depending on the angle you look at it.

Edit: Posted the reply while still writing it. Damnit... :roflmao:

What you said XN-Sigma is totally correct.
Since they also seem to scan miniatures
Some of the errors found in forza cars could only be replicated
by tracing the wrong source...
Of course the modelers worked there, are not to be blamed,they just did their job.