• "Bwoah." - Generic Kimi Quotes.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There's no such thing as a stupid question.

Type of controller needed to play F1 2011

Discussion in 'F1 2011 - The Game' started by force india maniac, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. force india maniac

    force india maniac

    Messages:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    What type of a controller is needed to play F1 2010/11 ? I mean does it require 2 analogue sticks,4 direction buttons,8 action buttons,1 start key and 1 select key ? Is any controller having these keys compatible with the game ? I have seen a good controller from Frontech and Enter.
     
  2. Paul Lock

    Paul Lock

    Messages:
    2,837
    Ratings:
    +483
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Scott Webber

    Scott Webber

    Messages:
    7,392
    Ratings:
    +2,397
    This is the one you describe force india maniac as paul has shown you, that will seriously get you around the track fast.

    NOT!


    not sure why you said a stick haha, they are for flying games not racing games, you can always get a PS2 controller with a converter for whatever platform you are on(although you would have to have Traction Control on Etc... or the best option is buy a steering wheel, the racing is experience is 100% better.
     
  4. Bram

    Bram
    #27 | Roaring Pipes Maniacs Staff Premium

    Messages:
    41,691
    Ratings:
    +15,998
    @Force india: the best way to play racing games is with a steering wheel. If you cannot afford one to buy new you can always have a look in our sim racing marketplace where users of this community sell and buy second hand goods from eachother, click here
     
  5. Paul Lock

    Paul Lock

    Messages:
    2,837
    Ratings:
    +483
    Well, he doesnt mention which platform he is playing on, budget etc, so I was being a daft. Its early and im still grouchy that the americans are busy playing 2011.

    Personally, I use a combination of these controllers -

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  6. Xprt98

    Xprt98

    Messages:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Xbox 360 controller (not wireless) works just fine with PC
     
  7. James Chant

    James Chant
    Premium

    Messages:
    5,528
    Ratings:
    +821
    Bahaa, yes, just as well be with assists on!
     
  8. force india maniac

    force india maniac

    Messages:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I meant to say is any controller having all the buttons of a Xbox 360 or PS3 controller support F1 2011 ?
    I cannot afford a wheel because I am buying a new grapics card-GTX 460.
     
  9. Wojciech Grabowski

    Wojciech Grabowski

    Messages:
    197
    Ratings:
    +8
    PS3 or xbox controler would work fine.
     
  10. RossoNeri89

    RossoNeri89

    Messages:
    32
    Ratings:
    +0
    but how you change gears in a PS3 controller? I've never used it for racing game so I'm intereset in this solution.
     
  11. James Chant

    James Chant
    Premium

    Messages:
    5,528
    Ratings:
    +821
  12. RossoNeri89

    RossoNeri89

    Messages:
    32
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks! it looks hard for me: pushing gas and steer and gear up, you need 3 hands for it :D at least for me it would be hard to get used to it.
     
  13. Paul Lock

    Paul Lock

    Messages:
    2,837
    Ratings:
    +483
    My virtual hat is tipped to anyone who can play with a joypad with manual gears.
     
  14. Hiroshi Awazu

    Hiroshi Awazu
    Off Topic Moderator

    Messages:
    5,399
    Ratings:
    +2,072
    I second that motion.
     
  15. James Chant

    James Chant
    Premium

    Messages:
    5,528
    Ratings:
    +821
    I still do on the xbox, until my copy of 2011 turns up for my race pc :p

    i bought an xbox wheel, but it hd no ffb, so it was pointless. i built the PC to race 2011 (and rfactor) on instead!

    Nothing specuial though,

    athlon II x2 255 - 3.1ghz,
    4gb ram,
    ati hd 57?? gpu

    doenst need anything bettter gfx wise, im using a projector @ 1600x1200
     
  16. jowak

    jowak

    Messages:
    35
    Ratings:
    +0
    The first one was used by Yuji Ide (my boy) in the Super Aguri 2006 cockpit.
     
  17. Paul Lock

    Paul Lock

    Messages:
    2,837
    Ratings:
    +483
    Oh, ok then.....

    Thats better :D :D

    You mean you havent thrown 32gb of Ram at it? Hehe. Nah seriously sounds like a perfectly capable rig for playing console ports.
    I have mild anxiety over my crossfire 4870s capability - or whether I will even be able to run crossfire. In Dirt3 it causes glitches that make the entire track flash like a strobe light when its raining. Holds breath till 00:01 Friday.......im turning blue.....
     
  18. James Chant

    James Chant
    Premium

    Messages:
    5,528
    Ratings:
    +821
    well, i built it to runrfactor on, and as a bonus 2011 will too, so im converting.

    Back on topic.....
     
  19. MonzaMania

    MonzaMania

    Messages:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to have a PC G25 set-up in the spare room until we made room for the arrival of my daughter (a bit more important...), but now i'm manual on console with joypad, I use R1 (change up) and L1 (change down). Not ideal but you get used to it.
     
  20. Kimi450

    Kimi450

    Messages:
    147
    Ratings:
    +4
    Xbox controller wire or wireless is good but you will need 10 - 20 laps to get use to it