Two different Porsches for Watkins Glen 1.1

The best Porsche of all time, IMO, the 1969 917K, which won the Sports Car Championship that year (and the Le Mans 24H in 1970), and the far more sophisticated 962c (aka "Shorttail") which won the 1987 24H (Porsche's seventh consecutive victory at the Sarthe circuit). The K is fiendishly difficult to drive; the c is, relatively speaking, a piece of cake. A 10-lap setup for each of the Kunos variants.

For the 962c
Thanks for always posting your setups. As a perennial setup beginner I've been looking for ways to combat the understeer of the 917k, so looking forward to checking out your approach.

A lot of the 917K's behavior depends on how you drive it. Ken Miles once told me (when I complained about a Triumph Spitfire I was testing), "If you're getting understeer, you're going too slow." Particularly true of the K. You really have to horse it around. Taking 'er slow will nose you into the bushes every time. Of course, too much wellie and you'll exit the racing surface backwards.

For the 962c

A lot of the 917K's behavior depends on how you drive it. Ken Miles once told me (when I complained about a Triumph Spitfire I was testing), "If you're getting understeer, you're going too slow." Particularly true of the K. You really have to horse it around. Taking 'er slow will nose you into the bushes every time. Of course, too much wellie and you'll exit the racing surface backwards.

Ooo top pedigree tips! I am feeling faster just knowing where that advice comes from.