• "Bwoah." - Generic Kimi Quotes.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The 2017 Formula One Monaco Grand Prix. Join the conversation here.
  3. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There's no such thing as a stupid question.

This game looks incredible with Nvidias new DSR

Discussion in 'Stock Car Extreme' started by Greg Latty, Oct 23, 2014.

  1. Greg Latty

    Greg Latty
    Premium

    Messages:
    862
    Ratings:
    +245
    Im sure most of you nvidia users have already downloaded the latest driver for their card, but for those who didnt, Nvidia cards can now downsample up to 4k resolutions with minimal performance hits. Ive been mainly messing around with Assetto Corsa since that game had so AA issues, but I decided to bump up the res in GSC and man does it look great. Check out the screens below.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Beer Beer x 1
  2. Beef36

    Beef36

    Messages:
    52
    Ratings:
    +6
    That looks good. Please excuse my complete technical ignorance, but how do I enable downsampling. Is it restricted to Maxwell GPUs or is it also enabled for lower spec cards like my GTX 670?


    Thanks
     
  3. Greg Latty

    Greg Latty
    Premium

    Messages:
    862
    Ratings:
    +245
    the update today should have enabled it for your card as well. open up nvida control panel and go to manage 3d settings. it should be under global settings called DSR located after the CUDA -GPUs setting. I dont think it works with triple screen or sli yet so if you have those it wont be enabled.
     
  4. Bez

    Bez
    All the gear, no idea...

    Messages:
    682
    Ratings:
    +163
    gtx 780 here and my drivers havent updated 344.11 (beta drivers checked) and im not seeing any options for this in my nvidia control??

    edit: checked on nvidia driver search page and im seeing 344.48, not finding this using the geforce updater.
     
  5. Lazarou

    Lazarou
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,554
    Ratings:
    +893
    The setting has shown on my updated driver on a GTX660Ti. I need to do some comparison shots side by side (just at work now for next 8 hrs) but initial impressions are very good looks great with sweetfx running as well. Minimal to no performance hit as well. You got to hand it to Nvidia's guru's, they are some seriously talented people.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Bez

    Bez
    All the gear, no idea...

    Messages:
    682
    Ratings:
    +163
    [​IMG]

    am I just not seeing it for looking? what is the option called??
     
  7. Lazarou

    Lazarou
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,554
    Ratings:
    +893
    I just changed it in global settings. DSR setting.
     
    • Beer Beer x 1
  8. Bez

    Bez
    All the gear, no idea...

    Messages:
    682
    Ratings:
    +163
    doh!...cheers for that paul, i was looking in the total wrong section
     
  9. Lazarou

    Lazarou
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,554
    Ratings:
    +893
    That be the problem Marc, too many settings! And they keep adding more. Now you've got to decide which of the variables in the settings you like best.
     
  10. Bez

    Bez
    All the gear, no idea...

    Messages:
    682
    Ratings:
    +163
    WOW even at 4x dsr im seeing no real hit in performance...WOW!!

    now all i need is for my th8a to arrive today and its happy days!
     
  11. Lazarou

    Lazarou
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,554
    Ratings:
    +893
    I'm running a TH8RS Marc, you will be impressed it's great fun in cars like the Formula Vee's etc. Adds so much to the immersion.
     
  12. Bez

    Bez
    All the gear, no idea...

    Messages:
    682
    Ratings:
    +163
    cant wait, my 458 rim came a couple of days ago and while the smaller rim size took a bit of getting used to the ffb seems even more precise and no more stretching to hit the static t500 paddles, need to find where i put the shifter mounting bracket for my rig now...somewhere tooooo safe i suspect.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Bez

    Bez
    All the gear, no idea...

    Messages:
    682
    Ratings:
    +163
    hmmmm, just been switching 4x dsr on and off and in all honesty im not seeing a huge difference if any to the amount of jaggies im seeing on screen.

    just tried alien isolation which ive found to show jaggies pretty badly and i was seeing the exact same level of aliasing with 4x dsr on as off, running all settings maxed and forcing 16x q AA.

    @Jok3sta what amount of dsr smoothing were you using in your grabs? LOD clamp forced on using a dll?
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
  14. Lazarou

    Lazarou
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,554
    Ratings:
    +893
    I only had chance to have a very quick try this morning, I'll need some comparison screenshots with the various settings which I cant try until this evening. Can anyone with access today post any before and after shots?
     
  15. Bez

    Bez
    All the gear, no idea...

    Messages:
    682
    Ratings:
    +163
    Image 1: no AA and no DSR - 1920x1080
    [​IMG]

    Image 2: no AA and 4x DSR (0% DSR smoothing) - 1920x1080
    [​IMG]

    Image 3: no AA and 4x DSR (100% DSR smoothing) - 1920x1080
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
    • Beer Beer x 1
  16. Lazarou

    Lazarou
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,554
    Ratings:
    +893
    Thanks Marc :)

    I would say after zooming to 200% and a lot of flicking between the two images I can see a difference for the better but it is not immediately obvious. I think I had 33% effect or smoothing well whatever the default was at 4K. I did a quick test with Wasteland 2 and that did look nicer.

    I can see I have a evening of menus and settings coming up :(
     
  17. Bez

    Bez
    All the gear, no idea...

    Messages:
    682
    Ratings:
    +163
    Just added a 3rd image with the smoothing @ 100%, im unconvinced its doing what it claims to be doing, another odd thing I noticed was the ability to check more than one box in the dsr drop down menu, it lists them when u select more than one??
     
  18. Bez

    Bez
    All the gear, no idea...

    Messages:
    682
    Ratings:
    +163
    no DSR and 32 AA
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Lazarou

    Lazarou
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,554
    Ratings:
    +893
    Hmm is there any difference? Is there enough difference to be worth the bother? I will have to some testing when I get chance.

    32AA probably looks better do you think?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Nox

    Nox
    Staff Premium

    Messages:
    6,679
    Ratings:
    +2,322
    They look pretty identical to me, at least not different enough to bother fiddling with menus and whatnot (at least personally...) Carry on...