F1 2013 Questions, Pit strategy?

F1 2013 The Game (Codemasters)
Hi fellows,
I started playing F1 2013 after finding it during the steam sales.

I've played the 2011 edition years ago on the Xbox, so I had a rough idea what I was getting into.

recently I've been playing the game on 100% race length and on medium difficulty (I'm not a terribly fast driver to be honest, about 1:20 on Monaco) only when I get to the races, I'm let down usually by the pit strategy.

Usually because I lose place during pitting and being unable to regain my place or improve, and I've tried having a look around for something definitive on how to approach pit strategy, but I haven't really found anything.

So (hopefully) could somebody explain to me how to approach the pit strategy? or should I just listen to the race engineer for once?

P.S. How do you even race Monaco with TC off? Christ.

• Deleted member 177725

Its all about practice without TC ;)

As for strategy, it is very dependant on 3 things (maybe 4)

1. Your car, A red Bull is better on tires than a Mercedes
2. The weather, Wet weather allows more relaxed driving, dry weather forces you to push
3. Your position in the field, if you have a ferrari and are p12, you should probably go for an undercut
4. Your in/out lap, try run on mix 3 for in lap, and mix 1 for outlap, this allows you to get heat into the tyres without wasting fuel and ruining them.

I suggest you read this article, covers the basics, i'll reply later with a more detailed and realistic approach

http://formula1.about.com/od/formula1101/a/strategy.htm

I suggest you read this article, covers the basics, i'll reply later with a more detailed and realistic approach

http://formula1.about.com/od/formula1101/a/strategy.htm

Interesting read, I found it insightful but I look forward to your in-depth reply.