Q: Creating TreeFX Tree Models

Hi, I have been creating Tracks with 3D Trees using the TreePlanter App & 3D models from posts with free pre-made models. The linked post showcases trees made Via 'TreeIt'. I would like to make my own Tree models with Tree it or Blender but I need a step-by-step guide as I am new to AC 3D Modding. I have already viewed the CSP Tree GitHub Post.

I'm helping Abulzz with 3d trees for the Targa Florio project and so we recently worked out the basics. We're using Speedtree which isn't free (20$ a month) and we both use 3dsmax, so I can't help you with either Tree It or Blender but here's the workflow:

- I guess using Tree It you need to then import the tree model into Blender to check the materials.

- You need to have a diffuse texture file (the base texture with alpha-channel for transparency) and a normal texture file (with I think specular map as alpha-channel) in .dds format for each of the different materials you use, let's say one for bark and one for leaves with a normal map each.

- I guess Tree It generates the normal map .dds for you, if not you can use Photoshop with the Nvidia plug-ins or online services that generate it from the diffuse texture.

- If you use more than one material it should be combined into one multi/sub-object material (that's how 3dsmax calls it), so one material that contains the two sub-materials. When loading in the .obj-tree from Speedtree it's already configured like that so might be the same with Tree It.

- Now in each sub-material (or main material if you only have one) you need to set the normal map to 'normal bump map'. In 3dsmax it's slightly tricky as you need to go to the material, open the 'maps' section and then click on the 'Bump' map. Then next to the map's name instead of 'Bitmap' select 'Normal Bump'.
I'm sure it's quite different in Blender, probably more straight forward, but the setting should be there too.