• Racing is not a matter of life and death. It's much more important than that!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There's no such thing as a stupid question.

PC Minimum System Specs

Discussion in 'F1 2010 - The Game' started by Bram, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. Bram

    Bram
    #27 | Roaring Pipes Maniacs Staff Premium

    Messages:
    41,592
    Ratings:
    +15,953
    Seen on the CM forums
     
  2. Ryan Callan

    Ryan Callan

    Messages:
    513
    Ratings:
    +501
    Quite low tbh - pretty good optimisation it seems.
     
  3. Bram

    Bram
    #27 | Roaring Pipes Maniacs Staff Premium

    Messages:
    41,592
    Ratings:
    +15,953
    I am good to go :)
     
  4. Yves Larose

    Yves Larose
    Premium

    Messages:
    12,000
    Ratings:
    +1,866
    it says minimum pc requirement, usually that means that with those you'll be able to run the game on the lowest game settings and even with those setting the game might not run very well. thats what my experience is telling me.
     
  5. Daniel Higgins

    Daniel Higgins

    Messages:
    1,873
    Ratings:
    +49
    Probably look like F1 2009 (Wii) with those settings. Depends on how much AI is around aswell though I guess.
     
  6. Dave Stephenson

    Dave Stephenson
    Technical Administrator Staff Premium

    Messages:
    8,888
    Ratings:
    +923
    yeah, looks kind of like the specs you need for 40fps on low settings. I'll be cranking it I know that much :)
     
  7. Georgios Davakos

    Georgios Davakos

    Messages:
    6,158
    Ratings:
    +332
    It looks like my laptop will be running at full throst if I play the game.
     
  8. Daniel Higgins

    Daniel Higgins

    Messages:
    1,873
    Ratings:
    +49
    Alternately Xbox/PS3 = Full Graphics
     
  9. Ondrej Kapal

    Ondrej Kapal

    Messages:
    3,561
    Ratings:
    +364
    but this full graphics arent that nice like on PC :)
     
  10. Eckhart von Glan

    Eckhart von Glan

    Messages:
    4,453
    Ratings:
    +597
    looks promising, now I just need to find out what kind of graphics card my son uses, he put the game right on top of his christmas list.
     
  11. Péter Bártfai

    Péter Bártfai

    Messages:
    3,596
    Ratings:
    +110
    Sigh - one less on the shopping list again it seems
     
  12. Johan Top

    Johan Top

    Messages:
    1,594
    Ratings:
    +262
    Wrong.
    First of all XBOX360 and PS3 don't go higher than 720 usually.
    Also the graphics cards are old.
    Dirt2 looks much better on a pc than on PS3 or X360 :).

    I run Dirt 2 @1920*1080 almost full. And it certainly looks better than X360 and PS3.

    F1 2010 should run fine.
     
  13. Kyle Puttifer

    Kyle Puttifer
    @ Simberia @Simberia

    Messages:
    1,487
    Ratings:
    +93
    Buying an Xbox 360, F1 2010 and a load of other games will be a lot cheaper than trying to upgrade my computer to above and beyond that level. There is no way in a million years that my computer will be able to run that. It meets four requirements only - DirectX version, OS, RAM and Hard drive space. I have 1GB RAM. :(
     
  14. Péter Bártfai

    Péter Bártfai

    Messages:
    3,596
    Ratings:
    +110
    For me the only problem (and not just for this game) is the CPU. Hopefully rF2 stays lower.
     
  15. Johan Top

    Johan Top

    Messages:
    1,594
    Ratings:
    +262
    Upgrading a pc ain't that expensive..

    XBOX360 slim = €250
    Game = €60 on average
    X360 wheel = Unavailable

    PC:
    Athlon II X2 250 - €57
    Motherboard €36
    4GB mem - €82
    Case+PSU - €60
    500GB HDD - €40
    DVD-burner - €18
    Graphics HD5750 1GB - €120
    Total: €410

    Games €45 each

    I don't think pc's are that expensive anymore.
    If you don't believe it:
    voilá:
    http://azerty.nl/winkelmandje/winke...267504]=1&product[213591]=1&product[242662]=1
     
  16. David Wright

    David Wright

    Messages:
    737
    Ratings:
    +250
    I think you forgot

    Operating system - Windows 7 €120 (this is expensive by UK standards).

    Then there is the issue of a monitor. I would suggest that not many people buy a TV to run their console on, but do you have a spare monitor lying around? Perhaps, but if not then the cost of a PC goes up still further. My monitors tend to be used for 2 PCs, so perhaps half the cost of a monitor is appropriate.

    12 months a go I built a PC for gaming. Nothing too over the top. 4Gb RAM, Core 2 Duo E8400, and ATI 4850 graphics. I had bought a 22" monitor the year before so I did not buy a new one. The cost of this PC (including OS) was £500 or €600.

    On the other hand you do need a PC these days even if it isn't to gaming standards so it is very difficult to compare.
     
  17. Péter Bártfai

    Péter Bártfai

    Messages:
    3,596
    Ratings:
    +110
    Well I think I'll upgrade my PC with a similar CPU that's in those requiements, that could get TDU 2 also running fine probably (I'm worried about the video card also in that case though, as I know tests showed that my 9600GT is slightly slower than the 8800GT that's in it's requiements. But true I played TDU 1 with a 128Mb 7600GS for a long time and it ran fine..)
    At least that Core 2 Duo would make Shift also run smoother:) And it's not that expensive, at the moment it's around 20000Ft (~70€) according to the prices I found on the net, but I'll have a look in our shops as well.
     
  18. Dave Stephenson

    Dave Stephenson
    Technical Administrator Staff Premium

    Messages:
    8,888
    Ratings:
    +923
    Should be less of a problem with something like rF where most of the play is based online. I bet AI is a real issue for you if you processor is slow.
     
  19. Johan Top

    Johan Top

    Messages:
    1,594
    Ratings:
    +262
    Most people who move on from computers keep the same monitor.

    And about Windows, I forgot that cuz I'm a student. ;) Because of that I can get Windows 7 Ultimate licenses from Uni for a very low amount and Win Xp for free...
    Win 7 Home Premium OEM costs about €90-€100
     
  20. Johan Top

    Johan Top

    Messages:
    1,594
    Ratings:
    +262
    Currently Intel processors are expensive in budget systems. AMD has very nice solutions for budget systems. :)