• “Just being a mediocre driver has never been my ambition. That's not my style” ― Michael Schumacher
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest. Follow RaceDepartment on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Twitch, Steam and YouTube.

Patch #9 is out :)

Discussion in 'F1 2012 - The Game' started by remydeleeuw, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. remydeleeuw

    remydeleeuw

    Messages:
    621
    Ratings:
    +303
    I saw this at the codemasters forum :)

    F1 2012 – PC Patch #9 News

    Today sees patch #9 available on Steam for PC versions of F1 2012.

    This update addresses the following issues:

    • Made some improvements to the online game so car positions should be more accurate and less twitchy at high speeds.
    • Made some PC Framerate improvements for those people who had an FPS drop after patches.
    • Fixed the wheel weight property so that it will now work correctly
    • Fixed the final results screen for the client in a Co-op session so they see their stats not the hosts.
    • Fixed two infrequent crashes.
    The fixes listed above and those specific to the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions of the game are also being tested and verified on those platforms. As these versions require additional submission and authorisation from both Microsoft and Sony the release date for these will follow a little later than the PC version.

    We are working on other issues you have reported via the forums, Facebook and Twitter and are working to fix them as quickly as possible. In the meantime, please note that we are still collecting feedback via our Technical Assistance forums and do encourage you to post your issues there being sure to include as much information as possible.

    Thanks for your continued feedback!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ........ Mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,476
    Ratings:
    +2,148
    Thanks for the info, Ill update the patch sticky thread ...... :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,810
    Ratings:
    +3,196
    Just saw it as well, giving it a try tonight - FPS drops, please be gone for real. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Mateusz Najda

    Mateusz Najda

    Messages:
    699
    Ratings:
    +225
    You'd better add this to the posts:
    const char * version = "Master Universal.831491 22/10/2012 16:16 "; unsigned int versionNumber = 831491;
    F1 2012.exe version: 1.3.0.0
    I bet you know why:roflmao:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ........ Mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,476
    Ratings:
    +2,148
    Indeed I do :D
     
  6. ENDR

    ENDR

    Messages:
    1,459
    Ratings:
    +673
    Some of the others (me included) probably don't :O_o:
     
  7. Michael Llewellyn

    Michael Llewellyn

    Messages:
    233
    Ratings:
    +25
    It's not , in fact it's from what i can see at this stage even worse than before.

    They really need to fix this stutter FPS issue for good.

    Cheers all.
     
  8. joe pineapples

    joe pineapples

    Messages:
    154
    Ratings:
    +27
    Will give it a try later this morning. Not had any issues with framerate myself, but wondering about the wheel weight thing.
     
  9. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,810
    Ratings:
    +3,196
    What I discovered yesterday (when I used a fresh installation because it kinda annoyed me) is that F1 2012 will start stuttering if you're using more than 10 2xHD skins for AI cars. F1 2012 never used more than 12GB RAM, despite more RAM being free, and I think that's probably related when using 2xHD skins. Don't know if you're using them but might be worth a shot.
     
  10. Michael Llewellyn

    Michael Llewellyn

    Messages:
    233
    Ratings:
    +25
    Ok mate, will check that out, i strongly suspect you may be correct Tom.

    I will report back.

    Cheers.
     
  11. Michael Llewellyn

    Michael Llewellyn

    Messages:
    233
    Ratings:
    +25
    Indeed you are onto something here for sure Tom, just had a near stutter free test session at Singapore which to me anyway suffered the most from this.

    I kept some of my HD skins and swapped out about 6 or so of the teams i don't normally race with anyway and the results are very good indeed.

    Very good find here mate, well done.

    Still a little way to go before it's completely stutter free, but it's a huge step forward.

    Cheers mate.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ........ Mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,476
    Ratings:
    +2,148
    Because it generally helps prevent the repeated questions like, 'How do I know if patch xxx is installed?' :)

    Tom Endres & Michael - That's interesting, would it not be down to the on-board graphics memory of your video card? I would have thought that the card's texture memory would hold it all, but I suppose the texture fillrate and bandwidth makes a difference also.

    I wonder whether it's worth monitoring with GPU-Z?

    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2173/TechPowerUp_GPU-Z_v0.6.5.html
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,810
    Ratings:
    +3,196
    I'm not sure but I think it's using normal RAM as well - my GFX card has 2GB onboard memory and that's pretty top end. :)
     
  14. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ........ Mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,476
    Ratings:
    +2,148
    Yeah, that should be way more than enough, and with a 2GB card it's obviously pretty recent.

    As far as I know, you are also using and SSD too aren't you? So that should eliminate the hard drive as a source of the issue.

    It' makes you wonder whether the EGO engine can cut the mustard when it come to handling multiple HD textures
     
  15. Roberto Costa

    Roberto Costa

    Messages:
    985
    Ratings:
    +480
    My guess is that all the textures are loaded on the GPU RAM.
    I've tried to play with my car using 8192 textures + AI cars with 4096. FPS were good, but i had some hangs. Like if the game paused for a 0.1 second. This happened 3-4 times during a single lap, so i believe the ego engine loads all the textures in the vram when you get to the track and it stays there. By the way my Vram is 1GB and my DDR is 8GB so i don't think this would happen if textures were loaded on the system ram. Even if tracks and everything besides cars loaded 2GB of ram, it would be possible to play with all cars using 8192 textures. Noticed that 2HD cars have 160MB textures so that should be 2GB cars + 2GB for the rest of textures, "should" be good to play with much less ram than Tom have.
     
  16. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,810
    Ratings:
    +3,196
    I think that's the problem, yes. What I'm using should be sufficient even if I'd use more HD textures, I hope.

    Intel i7-3770 3.45GHz
    Corsair DDR3 PC3-12800 - 4 x 4 GB (16 GB)
    GTX680 2GB
    OCZ Agility 3 - 60GB SSD - AGT3-25SAT3-60G (Win7 Pro)
    OCZ Agility 3 - 180GB SSD - AGT3-25SAT3-60G (F1 2012)

    ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Riesig

    Riesig

    Messages:
    87
    Ratings:
    +19
    Stop making me jelly Tom!

    Anyhow, never did felt any stutter. Or was I preoccupied? There's some cases where I've felt it stuttered, but... *Cue X-files music*

    Wheel weight, I didn't feel any noticeable change as of the moment.
     
  18. Chris

    Chris
    Administrator Staff Premium

    Messages:
    9,440
    Ratings:
    +5,820
    Well im using all cars 2HD skins, and the patch #9 has completely fixed my FPS issues. Im getting far better frame rates than i've ever had with this game since i bought it.

    70fps in TT mode
    and 50-55 in career mode race.

    I finally have the game i've been wanting!
     
  19. Riesig

    Riesig

    Messages:
    87
    Ratings:
    +19
    The game's not perfect, but it's awesome and significantly better than the previous iterations!
     
  20. Kevin Amankwah

    Kevin Amankwah

    Messages:
    1,054
    Ratings:
    +72
    Looks like this is near the end of patches, and I'll be fairly happy with the game state as is.