? on what my system can handle.

I am looking into getting a better video card for rfactor 2 and I would like to get away with just replacing that part of my computer. Can I upgrade to something better for rfactor 2 without changing anything else at this time? What video card would you recommend? I am new to the computer scene and I bought this computer like this minus the power supply (400w before). Thank you.

My Specs:
AMD Phenom II x2
Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P
4gb (2 x 2GB) ram
GeForce 9800 GT
700w power supply.

I don't play rfactor2 so I can't say for sure but a 6870 or 560Ti would probably be a sensible upgrade for you. If possible I would look into upgrading to a quad core CPU as well, I would recommend a 955BE (though I'm not too familiar with AMD CPU's tbh). I would also get a cooler for the new CPU for overclocking (not sure how capable that mobo is though).

I think we can better answer your question with a bit more info from you though:
- what is your budget?
- what resolution / settings do you want to play at?
- are there any other games you want to play? if so at what settings?

Upvote 0
I would like to keep it under 200 but a little over that would be ok. I play at 1920 x 1080 right now. As far as any other games go, nothing in the near future. I believe rfactor 2 is probably going to do it for me for a while. I suppose I might take a stab at GTR3 but I wonder if that will be that much of a leap over rfactor when that comes out. Hard to tell right now I guess.

My main question is can a higher performing video card be to much for the processor I have right now. Will I get the full potential out of either of those video cards if my CPU was still the same? CPU's can be pretty expensive right?