not specificly hardware question.....

Keith Gregg

CAUTION - SLOW VEHICLE
...please guys...reccomendations on best screen capture...preferably software...for PC 1920x1080 recordings...but I would also like to be able to capture my 3 screen in some format (5920x1080 I think)
Regards

PS
Led Zeppelin III is the best album ever made

I'm no expert by any means, but just last weekend i asked myself the same question (not the 3 screen thing though) and tried out a few; Fraps, Bandicam, Dxtory and MSI Afterburner. For now i've settled for MSI Afterburner cause it gave me the smallest filesize with a decent quality in comparison. I guess filesize and quality has a lot to do with the codec however. I used the Nvidia H264 codec (can't remember what it's called right now) that probably comes with the Nvidia cards driver/software. I'd like to try Nvidia's Shadowplay, but apparently it's not working atm. Read somewhere that it's broken in the latest version of Geforce Experience.

I'm sure experienced guys with a lot more knowledge will chime in so i'll be following your thread with great interest :)

Upvote 0
I used to use Fraps but its file size are ridiculously big :confused:
Shadowplay is good & free, it does work in the new version of Geforce Experience, its just called "Share" now.
Can record 2160p 4k, 1440p , 1080p @ 60fps :thumbsup:

Upvote 0
Hardware encoding is the way to go. This means using AMD's Crimson ReLive or Nvdia's Share (Shadowplay)

But better yet is using their Encoders on alternative software, OBS (Open Broadcasting Software) is great for this. It has a whole heap of adjustments, overlays etc. You can use it to livestream but it also records locally.