My story with the Logitech Driving Force GT and some advices for potential buyers

Hello everybody.

I wanted to share my experience with the new DFGT I have bought, with the hope that it might help with the decision for those that want to get into simracing, as it is the wheel that everyone recommends. If the "story" is too long for you, just skip to the part where I give some tips to follow when buying a new DFGT.

A little background:
I am new to simracing, although I must have played most PC racing games out there (the entire NFS series, minus a couple of titles, all Codemasters titles and other sims/aracde games such as Burnout Paradise, RBR, GC F1, etc.). In 2003 I even bought a wheel, a Thrustmaster Enzo FFB. My first wheel had some major flaws, that made me give up on it pretty quickly: a weak construction (cheap plastic), too strong FFB motor for a very light wheel and the most important the lack of a deadzone around the center position that made the wheel constantly fight you left-to-right as forces took action. Also, when strong forces were applied it seemed to be skipping gears and going to break. However, it was not as bad as I thought, as you will see.

Three events got me into simracing:
1. the discovery of NFS Shift that made me dust off my wheel and give it one more try, and then look for a more realistic sim;
2. Trying the Race07 series with the Enzo, that tought me what a real sim is;
3. A visit to a friend that was running F1 2010 with a Momo wheel and HD projector on the wall (imagine some 3 meter diagonal screen - that was a really impressive experience!).

As such I began to follow the simracing world, I even built a DIY wheel stand (that I’m really proud of), and all that was missing was the main piece, and most people have just one recommendation for a tight budget as I had: the DFGT.