Tracks Landsberg Rallye | Project:23

My fellow petrolheads!

You might have seen my creation Landsbergrally WP1.

In the past I sadly lost sight of my baby. But!!! In the last few years I was working on a lot of other tracks. For MONEY! YAY!
So I have gained some knowledge about LiDAR scans, track modding, blender in general and life. Therefore i fear I owe you an update, that includes ... uhm ... EVERYTHING!
So I've decited to create this post to share my ideas and progress on LBR-Project:23
If you have wishes i can include, or you have suggestions on whatever, feel free to share.

ACTUAL STATE:
-first public beta is available:
LBR23 beta07.2
-next: CSP trees

WHY I DO THIS:
- Landsberg is my baby
- there is better LiDAR data available now and I know how to handle it
- maybe find a way to finance Landsberg or related projects

WHAT I WANT TO DO (for now, this is my first try to write everything down):
- redo the whole ground including textures, LODs
- redo roads: I use the raw scan data (accuracy x/y: 0.05m, accuracy z: 0.02m) (less than a five thousandth of a football field) to reconstruct the surface on my own. This results in a mesh with a decent resolution to drive on and will be as close to reality as the data allows
- scalability: there are some more stages in this area, i need the ability to add parts easily
- use CSP for grass, trees, lights and more

awesome Software involved:
-Blender (and yepp i port the project to 2.9)
-CloudCompare
-meshlab
-QGIS

Last edited:
Here we go with all the ground (for now):
- 12x12 km
- 144 1x1 km tiles
- 9x 2k textures
- 127000 triangles
image.png

now doing asphalt details, so the cutout from high res driving mesh will be precise. after that, we'll be ready for the next testdrive to hopefully confirm the workflow. btw, the orthophoto you see in blender is 20cm/pixel and fits the ground 100%. i am baking my textures from this.
road_cut.jpg