How do you guys have fun while racing proper?

So, I'm relatively new to Sim Racing and I've had my wheel for about 4 weeks now.
But I have a problem. I don't really have fun while racing against somebody else. I love driving around in practice or hotlap mode in my favorite cars and trying my absolute best while trying to set a new personal fastest lap. But as soon as I race against A.I. or other people online, the fun goes away completely. I don't know why, but it feels so empty for me, like it's pointless. Do you guys have any tips and have you had the same problem perhaps?

I don't really understand now.
What do you expect from a race?
Just the start is pure adrenaline.
As soon as the field is organized, you drive in front of you until the opponent comes into view or someone pushes from behind.
This simulation does not have the rubber band principle that ensures that there are always vehicles around you. Give the AI 100% strength and it will be uncatchable for untrained people. That's largely how it is.
Although the rubber band function is now available in the Content Manager.
So you would always have opponents around you with whom you could go into duels.
You can also tweak the AI with additional mods or addons.
The AI has to refuel, change tires, have minor damage repaired or give up.
I would also think about joining a league or financing a private server with a few friends.
AI cannot keep up with humans. Not yet.
I mostly use our server. Sometimes there's someone there, sometimes I'm alone.
The public servers can all be thrown into the trash.

So, I'm relatively new to Sim Racing and I've had my wheel for about 4 weeks now.