• "Frankly, I know what's wrong but don't know how to fix it." - Bernie Ecclestone.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The 2017 Formula One Monaco Grand Prix. Join the conversation here.
  3. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There's no such thing as a stupid question.

GTR2 UI MOD - the new menu-interface for GTR2

Discussion in 'GTR 2' started by DucFreak, Nov 19, 2014.

  1. DucFreak

    DucFreak

    Messages:
    48
    Ratings:
    +114
    Hello everybody,

    I've been working on a significant revamp of the User Interface of GTR2, based on the one I prepared ages ago for the Power&Glory mod.

    GTR2 has been out for a number of years but still has a healthy userbase, especially with it now available on STEAM.
    So, while initially doing it for my own selfish reasons, it made all the sense to improve it further, then release it to the community.

    EDIT: Now upload to the RD database, you can get the GTR2 UI MOD from here:

    http://www.racedepartment.com/downloads/gtr2-ui-mod-installer-version.4433/

    You can find all the details about it in there.
    Cheers! :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
    • Like Like x 3
  2. H34d5h07

    H34d5h07
    No money, no team racing.

    Messages:
    948
    Ratings:
    +348
    This looks like something that would spice up GTR2, so thank you!
     
  3. Metalogic

    Metalogic

    Messages:
    453
    Ratings:
    +105
    My screen resolution is 1080p i.e. 1920x1080, as many screens are now, yet the UI Mod notes say:

    Regarding the dimensions (in pixels) of the backgrounds, take the following into account:

    • For wide-screen they have to be in either 1920x1200 or 960x600.
    • For regular-screen they have to be in either 1600x1200 or 800x600.

    NOTE: any different resolutions will cause issues!​

    Does this mean that the mod is not compatible with a resolution of 1920x1080?
     
  4. David Wright

    David Wright

    Messages:
    739
    Ratings:
    +252
    I think the resolutions refer to the menu backgrounds not your screen. You have a widescreen so presumably you would choose 1920x1200
     
  5. Metalogic

    Metalogic

    Messages:
    453
    Ratings:
    +105
    It's just that that's larger than my screen size (1920x1080), or doesn't that matter?
     
  6. DucFreak

    DucFreak

    Messages:
    48
    Ratings:
    +114
    @Metalogic:

    If you read it with attention, you'll understand that those are notes for modding purposes (for those that may wish to create new/different backgrounds in the future). They're not related with common usage purposes.
    As David said, the backgrounds do not interfere with your screen size or resolution, so don't worry about it.

    If you game in 1080P (1920x1080), then follow the options given by the installer (note that you can always change to other given options by running the installer again), and then when the screen format option to choose comes up, choose the widescreen format. :) And that's it, it's done.

    PS: don't forget to get the fix for the mod.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2016
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Metalogic

    Metalogic

    Messages:
    453
    Ratings:
    +105
  8. David Wright

    David Wright

    Messages:
    739
    Ratings:
    +252
    Just bumping this mod as it not only includes cleaner more modern menu screens, but also a fix for the CTD bug when racing online with triple screens.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Rupe Wilson

    Rupe Wilson
    Senior HistorX club driver Staff Premium

    Messages:
    12,921
    Ratings:
    +5,793
    @Bram
    If RD are planning a league with GTR2 this should fix my worries especially if drivers use triples screens..
    maybe pop it with the other 2 mods..

    Thanks @David Wright