FOV - LG 55"

Hi folks!

I've been playing with this setup for a couple of years now and there are 2 things in my whole sim-race experience that bother me, Pedals and FOV..

The pedals are since I made the upgrade from the CSL Elite V1 to V2 more comfortable but still not that perfect, hoping to get the Heusinkveld's someday but maybe they look nicer/better then they are in real life/for me.

Anyway the question is about the right FOV for my TV, sinds I joined LFM my driving experience is growing but still I feel like I'm not getting further with my laptimes, In the rookie servers I won multiple times and now in the servers with Iron/Gold drivers I'm more like a gatekeeper..

The FOV calc. pointed me to about 40 FOV but that feels like driving on the back of a snail.. so that's not going to work.

I used to drive with 60 FOV and had no problems with that execpt some cerbs on the outside (right ofcourse) but I was so desperate to gain better laptimes that I experiment with the FOV settings, changed it from 60 to the default 54 and that gave me some positive delta and better lap times but the sense of speed was less then 60 fov so sometimes headed the corner to fast or screaming tires in the corner. Then I tried 56, 57, 58 but now I'm at the point that im not enjoying it at all..

Been searching on Google/Reddit/YT and the opinions vary from use the calc. to put it to your likings so I was hoping to find someone with the sort of same setup or experience!

Attachments

• IMG_5884.JPG
    IMG_5884.JPG
    398 KB · Views: 36
Last edited:
FOV calculations and "Back of a snail" is realistic. Do what you enjoy, but understand that the physics/mathematics of FOV is correct, has been understood since the pyramids were built. If you need the wider FOV to see into corners, then pull the TV closer and recalculate your FOV.

Last edited:
I personally would never say that the FOV has any impact on lap times.