F1 2010 F1 2010 - Complete Noob - Advice on brakes

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
Hi guys, I guess most people won't bother reading this as I'm a complete newbie to the game but, I have a question:

--Is the use of "autobrake" seen as a complete and utter sacrilege and cheating of the highest order?

I ask because I am awaiting the arrival of the game tomorrow on ps3 and after having tried and tried on a demo to use proper brakes (even with the racing line on!) it seems incredibly difficult to drive, and I'm enjoying the demo on autobrake more. Am I cheating myself?

Thanks

In honesty it would be much better for you to start without autobrake as you'll get used to it easier, as you can probably imagine the autobrake isn't perfect especially in races where you may be taking an alternate line and need to brake sooner/later than you normally would. Keep the racing line on to begin with and you should be able to get used to it, one tip would be you want the majority of your braking to be in a straight line through most corners and focus on slow in, fast out!

Just as a side-note, this is the 2011 section for discussion of the upcoming game, there is a section for the current just above it :)

Thanks for that. I guess practice will make perfect. It just feels way off at the moment.

Hopefully a mod can move this thread. sorry about that.

Just try to separate the phases of a basic corner to begin with to make it easy, nothing tricky like monaco.
I'm not sure which circuits you actually have, but try:

1. Brake early
2. Let off brakes
3. Turn in progressively (with a controller you can pretty much steer right completely anyway)
4. Hit that apex!
5. 3/4 out of the corner accelerate and straighten the car during the exit