DIY Wind Generator

I have a bit of spare time next week as the family are all away so I decided to have a go at this.

I had seen a review of a commercial product (linked below) and the 'two fan' version together with delivery and all the extras was over £200 - a bit much for something that's just a bit of fun.

Now I realise that most of the time I race in cars with windscreens and even open wheeler drivers wear helmets so whether this introduces any realism is up for debate.

However, realism and immersion are not necessarily the same thing and I'm open to this adding some immersion to the experience.

Additionally, summer has come early and I do get very hot and sweaty inside that VR hat, so the idea of some cool wind blowing at me is appealing.

I managed to pick up everything I needed for this project on Amazon for around £80.

If it works, I'm a progremmer by trade, so might take a look at connecting to APIs in other sims to see if I can use the fans on those two - the scripts provided only work with AC so far.

If anyone's interested, I'll post updates. Should be building it over the weekend, early next week.

Cheers for the insight @metalnwood !
As I am not simracing openwheelers at all, the wind simulation is kind of silly anyhow. Tintop cars will also have cooling / fans but not so much related to car speed as it is with formula cars.

Good points made about velocity/volume. As I practically have a living room setup, noise is a factor. At times I use a headset, e.g. when my wife watches some (lame) crime or zombie TV series. :cool:

Will think of a solution when summer comes. At the moment I do not feel the need for cooling while simracing. At the very least I can use my table ventilator, if I haven't come up with a good solution until then. :D

Upvote 0
If you have to deal with other people in the room, you might not be able to turn it up a lot :)