DIY Wind Generator

I have a bit of spare time next week as the family are all away so I decided to have a go at this.

I had seen a review of a commercial product (linked below) and the 'two fan' version together with delivery and all the extras was over £200 - a bit much for something that's just a bit of fun.

Now I realise that most of the time I race in cars with windscreens and even open wheeler drivers wear helmets so whether this introduces any realism is up for debate.

However, realism and immersion are not necessarily the same thing and I'm open to this adding some immersion to the experience.

Additionally, summer has come early and I do get very hot and sweaty inside that VR hat, so the idea of some cool wind blowing at me is appealing.

I managed to pick up everything I needed for this project on Amazon for around £80.

If it works, I'm a progremmer by trade, so might take a look at connecting to APIs in other sims to see if I can use the fans on those two - the scripts provided only work with AC so far.

If anyone's interested, I'll post updates. Should be building it over the weekend, early next week.

I recommend the Sym Projects Fan Controller for £29.
https://www.symprojects.com/categor...her-controllers-fan-controller/fan-controller
E3kkHIul.png

Add a couple of PC fans and you are sorted.
HcPrr2Um.jpg

With the free Sim Dash software, you can create profiles for different cars.
kkhgyTZ.png

One of the best, and easiest, upgrades I've done.

Upvote 0
That's great - if I'd known about it before I'd have bought it instead of the Arduino. I may still buy it and just send the Arduino back.

I would keep the Arduino if i were you

Arduino combined with simtools gives you THE best game compatibility. As soon as a new title arrives simtools will be updated by the large community behind it.

Arduino based DIY windsim also allows to to upgrade later to the more beefy seaflow blowers ( which are awesome by the way )