an Android "touchbuddy" button box ???

I remember when pgrande busted out his touchscreen button box using touchhbuddy. Totally cool!

I'm not a programmer in any sense but I was wondering if anyone has been working on using a tablet in place of the touchscreen monitor that was used. I ask because I just picked up a white Pandigital Novel 7" color multimedia e-reader. When flashed with modified firmware, you get a fully working android 2.1 tablet. Still use mine for a lot of reading though.

I browsed the touchbuddy forum a while back and I thought someone was working towards getting touchbuddy running on a cell phone. I think somewhere it said that androids can run perl (touchbuddy's language.) Since there are apps that allow an android device to control a pc, I think through VNC, I wonder if it's just around the corner of having an wireless android tablet work like pgrande's touchscreen?

I second that android based screen would be fantastic. I really want to find a rDisplay type of application for use on a tablet. I hope this starts a good indepth thread about something I think alot of us would find very useable in our racing. Thumbs up.

Upvote 0
That is exactly what I am looking for. I wonder if I could change the program somehow to adapt it to rFactor. I'd end up sitting infront of a screen full of basic, or C++ (no matter what it is, I don't know it) and just hope something changed and it would magically work.

I'm sorry if I took away from the "button box" theme you had Chip, I didn't mean it in a bad way and I do still think a touch screen button box would be a great app that I would use just as much as I would a dashboard.

Upvote 0